Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2001, 06:06 AM
Trash Man Trash Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seattle WA.
Posts: 107
Default 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

the only thins is that it is on convert after bounce....I've tried everything...Closed all windows, hid all tracks everything....With 5.0 I used to bounce with maxed out 24 tracks and never had a problem...Oh by the way this only happens when I'm using alot of tracks and plug In's....The song will play through, it just gives me the bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce window in the middle of the bounce
.
Your help is appreciated..

Trash Man
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2001, 01:39 AM
Karrot24 Karrot24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: LongBeach,N.Y.
Posts: 51
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

Your not alone I've had the same problem since I installed 5.1....any thoughts would be great....By the way I've done bounces w/lots of tracks and plugs w/5.01 no prob...?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2001, 04:46 AM
crowdog crowdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Jim Thorpe, PA
Posts: 609
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

I ran into the same problem after installing 5.1, on a session that took the Mac right up to it's limit - 24 tracks, lot's of edits & automation & plugins. I posted in "PTLE" & in "Mac OS" forum regarding the problem. I rec'd some advice from Digi to close all plug-in windows, increase RAM allocated to PT/DAE, increase hardware buffer and others (I can't remember , off-hand) none of which helped. Finally in a last ditch effort I converted one of the Ren Comps to audiosuite and then I was able to bounce it through.
Which is truly a drag ...... it appears now we have to preserve a bit of DSP for the bounce - in 5.01 if a sesion would get by playing straight through (liquid screen redraws) it would always BTD.

Do a search for "bounce handler" in a few of these forums and you'll find these threads.

Good luck,
Tony
__________________
___________________________________________
Mac Pro 2 x quad-core 2.8Ghz / 14GB RAM / OSX 10.6.8/ PT10.0.1 / 003R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2001, 03:08 PM
gohn gohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: toronto,ontario,canada
Posts: 29
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

I' ve been having the same problem. Looks like alot of us have. I followed the suggestions posted on the DUC (increased DAE buffer size, added more memory to DAE and PTs) seems to work but taxes my system to it's absolute limits. My question is why is this a problem. I had, like most of you, no problems with this in 5.01. Why is this an issue. Is it a bug, will it be fixed in future upgrades, or is this the way the DAE will handle bounce to disk from now on?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2001, 04:48 PM
Mike F Mike F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

ditto for me. 5.01 no problems, 5.1 problems, only resolved by removing plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2001, 09:47 PM
Jeff D. Jeff D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 805
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

Same for me - I've had to resort to recording the mix to a pair of extra tracks. But this is a BIG drag if I'm already using 24 tracks... then it's off to DAT - yuk!

Jeff D.
__________________
www.jephthastudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2001, 06:04 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

I just thought I'd revive this thread as I had my first error of this type today. It was a fully-loaded session. I switched it to "convert after bounce" and STILL got the same error message.

The only solution was to use audiosuite version of several plugins to reduce the load. I also upped the buffer from 128 samples to 256 samples. Then things ran.

As the rest of you stated, this is a new problem with 5.1. 5.0.1 didn't do this.

I hope someone at Digi can comment on whether 5.1.1 will address this bug.



------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2001, 07:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

-PT 5.1.1 will in fact address some issues regarding to the "Bounce Handler..." errors.

-Unfortunately, I do not know whether or not the BTD function in PT LE will still require the same amount of CPU resources as version 5.1.

Brent

__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2001, 09:16 PM
Trash Man Trash Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seattle WA.
Posts: 107
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

Since I originally posted I cleaned up my hard drive...w/ Norton I undid my Hard Drive and the Bouncing is happening now....I use a bunch of plug in's w/ about 20 tracks and it bounces....????

Weird....Try it and see if it works for you now....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2001, 09:28 PM
dcornutt dcornutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: 5.1 wont bounce. Says \"bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce....\"

Yes,
bouncing to a different drive will usually solve the problem. ie..bounce to a drive other than the one your session is running on. Not a sep partition...but a diff physical drive. This will work...even for large sessions.

And also..yes..this is different than it was in 5.01.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce handler??? sw rec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 05-22-2009 05:14 PM
Bounce Handler cannot keep up elravio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-16-2007 10:08 AM
Bounce Handler JFREDSKINS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-07-2005 02:19 PM
Bounce Handler Cannot Keep Up????? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 11-17-2003 05:37 PM
Bounce Handler Cannot Keep Up? Help! zspringloaded 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-07-2001 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com