Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2017, 08:52 PM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

There's so many basic things that are still missing from Pro Tools... things that people have literally been requesting for 10+ years!

Not having some sort of plugin manager within ProTools to tell it which plugins to load (or not load) has got to be one of the FUNDAMENTALS of building a rock solid working environment, yet we STILL don't have one.

Having to manually move plugins to an "UNUSED" folder?? What decade are we in??

Dear Avid... maybe you could stop faffing around with whatever ideas YOU think are cool and actually implement the things that your paying customers actually want!
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:54 PM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

I'd +1 this suggestion. Didn't think about it as I've done most of this manually, plus with all the UAD stuff it's a moot point...
__________________
Shift Studios

Computer: Custom Built PC
Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU: i7 7700k
MEM: 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4 3000
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti Extreme
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
DAWs Pro Tools 12.7.1
Interface: Universal Audio
Preamps: Focusrite, Universal Audio
Outboard Processors: Universal Audio
Control Surfaces: AVID S3, Pro Tools | Control + Pro Tools | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:35 PM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 257
Default It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Maybe one day...

In the mean time enjoy your loops :P


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:57 PM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by del cosmos View Post
Maybe one day...

In the mean time enjoy your loops :P
Ha ha exactly!!
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:59 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 369
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

What does "load" a plugin mean? Why would any DAW load a plugin that's not currently being used? I assumed plugins are loaded as you insert them. Even a "plugin manager" sounds superfluous.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2017, 08:02 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,706
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovemyssl View Post
There's so many basic things that are still missing from Pro Tools... things that people have literally been requesting for 10+ years!

Not having some sort of plugin manager within ProTools to tell it which plugins to load (or not load) has got to be one of the FUNDAMENTALS of building a rock solid working environment, yet we STILL don't have one.

Having to manually move plugins to an "UNUSED" folder?? What decade are we in??

Dear Avid... maybe you could stop faffing around with whatever ideas YOU think are cool and actually implement the things that your paying customers actually want!
sorry if i am stupid, but what does this mean "some sort of plugin manager within ProTools to tell it which plugins to load (or not load)"

load or not load is the question (no pun) .. why would you be Not Loading some plugins ?? normally we all load up all the plugins we have at once and then pick and choose from within PT ..

what issues or Workflow needs (a better way to say this) do you see or need ??

again, i am just not understanding why you would not just load up ALL your plugins at startup of PT ..

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2017, 08:09 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

The OP wants to be able to launch PT with "plugin sets" loaded for various purposes.

Imagine having a "composing set" loaded when you're writing so that when you go the plugin menu, only your VIs (and whatever else you want) are shown. And when you're mixing, your "mixing set" doesn't have any VIs, but all your favorite processing plugs. I get it.

Doesn't make sense for how I work, but I see the appeal.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2017, 08:49 AM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

you know what would be better?

saveable effects chains/channel strips..

you know, like every other daw has been able to do for like 10 years now.


and i know you can hack it.. but thats not the same.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2017, 09:33 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
you know what would be better?
two different and desirable things to different people.

And the hack isn't even close to the real feature, it fact the "hack" is really a different thing entirely.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2017, 09:35 AM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

One of the biggest causes of instability with Pro Tools is 3rd party plugins.

The fact that there is no practical way to tell Pro Tools not to load a plugin to see if that is causing issues.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can somebody help me understand the entire scenario if I dont upgrade to 12 b4 2017? DBK Pro Tools 11 12 12-20-2016 10:22 AM
Namm 2017 New pro Tools Hard & Soft ? Say Your About... zavid General Discussion 4 11-08-2016 08:50 AM
Waves GOLD, WUP until July 2017 (license transfer) Eric Seaberg Buy & Sell 0 07-14-2016 01:53 PM
PT Plugin Manager matmi Post - Surround - Video 2 02-13-2008 07:44 PM
Plugin Manager inkoma 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-10-2008 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com