Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:02 AM
dvuckovic dvuckovic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 14
Default Zero Crossing?

Is Digi ever gonna feature the most stupid thing in one of the future updates? Zero crossing is really a basic feature...
__________________
--------------------------------------------------

Amek 9098i 72ch, HD3, G5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:26 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,545
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

I've never needed it in all the years I've been using PT. I do my own fades and/or use PT's excellent Auto Region Fade In/Out and all is good. What functionality are you specifically looking for?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:42 AM
dvuckovic dvuckovic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 14
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

Yes, well I've been using PT for years, but wouldn't it be nice if you could just do an edit and KNOW it's not going to make a glitch, instead of having to use fades? And, also not using fades for just about every edit you make would free up the disk of all the unnecessary fade files?

Also, it would be nice if Beat Deective could make its separations ON zero crossings, so that you wouldn't need to do use batch fade...
__________________
--------------------------------------------------

Amek 9098i 72ch, HD3, G5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:51 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,545
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

I see your point but the Auto Region Fades do just that, make it so you don't worry and have no glitches.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:12 AM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

Quote:
I see your point but the Auto Region Fades do just that, make it so you don't worry and have no glitches.
Believe it or not, this does not always work and still can produce audible glitches on fade ins and outs. Especially when the audio being edited is exposed like a VO. Many times I've had to cut the fade at zero.

There are other times where a crossfade is not even necessary when an edit is joined with two regions meeting at zero with one waveform amplitude being positive and the other negative. It would be nice to have a zero edit point, however when I need it, I just do it visually.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:52 AM
dvuckovic dvuckovic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 14
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

Yes, but they really should make it a feature, which you could turn off if you don't need it. Simple as that...
__________________
--------------------------------------------------

Amek 9098i 72ch, HD3, G5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:54 AM
realgonzalez realgonzalez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 23
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

Quote:

There are other times where a crossfade is not even necessary when an edit is joined with two regions meeting at zero with one waveform amplitude being positive and the other negative. It would be nice to have a zero edit point, however when I need it, I just do it visually.
it´s absolutely ridiculous having to search for the zero crossings visually/manually, but if you want to edit speech/vocals without any plops or even artefacts this is the best way to do it. superior to crossfades imo. at our studio most of the speech editing is done using Wavelab which features zero crossings but no crossfades(!) and I can tell you it´s way faster than editing in pro tools

This is an essential feature, so please digi put it on your list!

philip lewis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:55 AM
dvuckovic dvuckovic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 14
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

My point exactly! Nuendo has it for ages.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------

Amek 9098i 72ch, HD3, G5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:28 PM
Scott Church Scott Church is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 122
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

dvuckovic,

Thanks for posting. I have a question on how you would implement this feature. I have also used Nuendo and Logic Pro, and understand what Search for Zero Crossing does. For mono files, it works quite nice - if I make a selection it will adjust the selection (slightly) to find its nearest zero crossing point. This would definitely have to be a preference, as we don't want to unknowingly change anyone's selection, as that could cause probelms. However, in this case it is straight foward.

My question is about Stereo files, as this feature has actually given me a "false sense" of security while editing For example, because a selection of the Left and Right channel must be exactly the same in the timeline, I have found that those applications find the zero crossing on the left channel and extend that to the right channel. Often, this does not fall on a zero crossing in the other (right) channel. So you could turn this feature on and still have clicks coming from the other channel in a Stereo file. Because of this, I have always had to manually zoom in, check the edit and still add a crossfade.

Has your experience been different, and how should it be implemented for multi-channel files in your opinion? I am sincerely interested and appreciate the feedback.

Cheers.
Scott
__________________
Scott Church
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2007, 02:24 PM
Sonny Keyes Sonny Keyes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 334
Default Re: Zero Crossing?

Hi Scott,

I've found exactly the same thing with Stereo files in Logic, so perhaps the sensible thing to do would be to make it available for mono files only. The times I find it most useful are usually when I'm editing an announcer read - crossfading a single voice in the clear often sounds unnatural, and matching the pos and neg waveforms on either side of a zero can dazzle the clients when you switch takes in the middle of a word!

Sonny Keyes
Ricochet Audio
Toronto
__________________
Sonny Keyes
Toronto
http://www.sonnykeyes.ca

Rig 1: 2.8GHz Macbook Pro PT 12.7.1 Logic 10.3.2 Scarlett 18i20
Rig 2: 2.66 QuadCore Intel Xeon Logic 10.2.0 Scarlett 18i20 PTHD10.3.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossing over.... Mike Teezie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 10-28-2002 05:26 PM
Crossing to the other side PC>MAC Jayson Torres 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-29-2002 07:43 AM
Crossing over to Protools...Help. A.D.D. Kids 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-01-2002 06:11 PM
Edit on Zero Crossing!!!! nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 07-31-2002 10:38 AM
Zero Crossing Ke productions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-07-2001 03:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com