Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2000, 03:24 PM
JACEK GAWLOWSKI JACEK GAWLOWSKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: WARSAW,POLAND
Posts: 76
Default Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

Hi!
I have been using 4.3.1 for some time with no problems,but now I wish to upgrade to v.5.0 for its MIDI capabilities.Users,please confirm that it is stable.Are there any major bugs in it,have anyone experienced any problems?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2000, 06:49 AM
Bryan Bryan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 474
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

rock solid here. the midi is way cool...we're headed in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2000, 11:35 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

Touch wood, I've used it for about 100 hours and haven't yet had a single crash.

The only problem I had was once when I had to keep closing and opening different sessions. After about 15 times PT gradually got slower and slower. Following a reboot, all went back to normal.

I can't speak for anyone else but for me at least it's been rock solid so far.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2000, 10:55 PM
RIO B. RIO B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: CHICAGO,ILLINOIS,USA
Posts: 35
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

Powermac 9600/300mhz 128 megs ram...9 gig barracuda just for audio..system 8.5.1 protools mix with version 5 software no scsi accelerator running 31 tracks before disk to slow error
__________________
RIO B.
MAB PRODUCTIONz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2000, 01:43 AM
RIO B. RIO B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: CHICAGO,ILLINOIS,USA
Posts: 35
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

Same here..SOLID NEVER CRASHED...MIDI is great not as feature full as cubase but enough to get the job done..Vocals sound better also..don't know why I'm using the same sardware as when I was using cubase
__________________
RIO B.
MAB PRODUCTIONz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2000, 01:59 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

hey, no fair. i want to be able to say "nocrashes" too. what system, comuter, scsi card, video card, hard drives are you useing that you never crash?
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2000, 10:08 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

But the BIG QUESTIONS:

Are you using Waves?
Are you using a HUI?

Any conflict? I'm still timid about upgrading.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2000, 11:23 PM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

I'm using Waves 2.8.1 and a HUI with PT 5.0. No problems here.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2000, 02:39 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 981
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

I'm using Waves 2.8.1 but no HUI and 5.0's been at least as stable as 4.3.1 was -- especially after someone reminded me to check the disk cache settings in the memory control panel. Digi says 512k or lower -- I was advised "as low as possible," which is what I did. And now, it's all good.
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2000, 09:26 PM
agus agus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 247
Default Re: Is the PT .5.0 stable version?

We just upgraded to PT5.0 Mix on a B/W G3450. We were running 4.3 on an unqualified APS MPower clone with absolutey no problems. I can't say that 5.0 is crash free, but it is very cool. Isn't there a know bug with regards to the computer hanging up on boot aprox. 2 out of every 10 times? I've seen a few crashes in our new setup, but we've gotten so use to saving all the time, they haven't been an issue. Don't get me wrong... PT 5 and our new Pro Control is way cool. I'm a true Digi believer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most stable PT 9 and OSX 10.6 version? allen_gibberish Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 11-06-2011 05:07 PM
Most stable OS version OddsAre Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 02-01-2011 12:44 PM
Which PT 8 version is currently most stable? smpkeys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-18-2010 06:15 PM
Most stable PT version for HD2 on 8 core XP? tonygoodall Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 09-12-2009 07:53 AM
The most stable version of PT sphereman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 53 02-24-2007 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com