Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-13-2016, 04:47 AM
White Fire Sky White Fire Sky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 23
Default Re: Distortion Sound on Pro Tools 12?

I just wanted to let you know that this definitely worked. When the noise appears I change the buffer size - any direction - and it goes away.

I can't believe it is fixable so quickly - it pained me for months!

Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge. It is much appreciated!

Victoria
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-15-2016, 03:26 AM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: Distortion Sound on Pro Tools 12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Fire Sky View Post
I just wanted to let you know that this definitely worked. When the noise appears I change the buffer size - any direction - and it goes away.

I can't believe it is fixable so quickly - it pained me for months!

Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge. It is much appreciated!

Victoria
I have been having a distortion problem that occurs only sometimes. I plan to try your solution. I had been thinking it was happening cuz I have been recording at 192 kHz and had never used that before getting P T 12 a month ago.

My solution has been to patch record the distorted spots (it happened spottily through a seven minute song) and I had primarily blamed/changed poorly planned automation on pitch shift and reverb plugins.

When I patch recorded the stretches with distortion I had to record and undo several times before I got a take with no distortion. The clear sound of the Drums made it obvious when I had a good take. At which point I had to drag the ends to some good overlap and finally when all patches were done, consolidate.

This was effective but time imperfect.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-21-2021, 08:33 PM
BusyBoxSt7 BusyBoxSt7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 63
Default Re: Distortion Sound on Pro Tools 12?

Did anyone ever find a permanent solution to this or do we have to keep opening/closing the playback engine settings? On PT 2019.12. Is it possibly related to a certain brand of converters or.. ?

If this hasn't been resolved, Avid should just add a "fix" button to the mix and edit screens so it's faster to clear the garbage sound.
__________________
Busy B
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8 SupposedGhosts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-08-2013 02:27 PM
cant get any distortion to sound good alaskan eel Eleven Rack 18 09-04-2013 09:05 PM
Sound Distortion/Buzzing In Pro Tools SE? StereoProphet Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 06-16-2013 02:27 PM
Distortion sound from PT and Focusrite 24 Andy1138 macOS 5 09-20-2011 01:04 PM
Sound distortion with Pro tools LE 7.1 melodic101 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com