Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2007, 02:22 PM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Pro Logic solutions

forgive the post on something that I am sure has been covered, but I find the search function yielding either too much or nothing. So here it is: I have a client that wants to convert a stereo mix to a pro-logic format. I understand the Dolby Surround Tools will do this. I am checking if this is correct. Also, once someone has encoded to a Pro Logic format, how is that authored into a DVD on a Mac, Can DVD Studio Pro deal with this format?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:58 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

Prologic encoding is a 2 track matrix derived from LCRS, theres no point running a stereo pair through a PL encoder.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2007, 05:51 PM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

OK, so assuming I can remix to four tracks, then if that is encoded as Pro Logic, does that go onto a DVD as a standard 2 track AIFF/wav file? In other words is the output of the process a format that is recognized in DVD Studio Pro?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2007, 07:26 PM
scott waz scott waz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 109
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

yes, it becomes a two track wav file that will play back in mono, stereo and if sensed by a PL2 decoder, will unfold into a surround soundfield. As best it can. It is editable. But not sure you'd want to do that to a matriced file anyway.

Does that help?

-scott
__________________
Scott Waz CAS
Philadelphia Post
www.phillypost.tv
~a Dream Out Loud company~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2007, 07:29 PM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

yes thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2007, 07:42 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

DVD Studio Pro also recognizes stereo files!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2007, 06:37 AM
CLee CLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 404
Default Re: Pro Logic solutions

You may also want to try running the LoRo mix through an upmix processor and printing that on the DVD as an AC3 file. I've had that done to some of my no-budget indie films mixes and it sounds pretty good. I would put an upmixed AC3 and the untouched LoRo PCM track on the DVD

Also, a Dolby Digital track does not rely on decoding for playback, so you have more control of the final sound. You could make minor changes to the balance of the upmixed track if you want.
__________________
Craig Lee@Cerny American
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best D/A solutions jamesimm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-05-2011 04:13 PM
Panning stereo DAE trax in Logic: Your solutions? bashville Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-28-2004 02:01 AM
PT5.1.1 need some solutions PiratePost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-03-2001 01:45 PM
PT5.1.1 need some solutions PiratePost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-03-2001 10:18 AM
Other Hardware Solutions for Logic Audio? relaxo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-30-2000 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com