Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2021, 02:40 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 369
Default Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

Working mostly in Music world...

I'm not really a candidate for using the "Dolby Bridge" playback engine because I sometimes have hardware inserts, and the workflow buzzkill of constantly changing playback engines when flipping between sessions of various sample rates and IO needs is arduous.

I'm all set up using the Send/Receive Plugin method, all of my Bed and Object routing is working as expected, and return paths to monitoring system and other paths (headphone/binaural, etc.) all working.


Using mono Master Faders with "Send" plugins to get to the renderer, and mono Aux returns to come back. All working and passing signal as expected.

Problem is: I'm getting massive, and noticeable errors in the Delay Compensation on tracks.

If I monitor all of my outgoing audio locally from auxes with Downmixer and deactivate the Sends to the renderer, everything is fine.

My working theory is that the only way this will work properly is if I put the Dolby Atmos Renderer on a separate computer and route everything via Dante (so that the audio has a clearly defined 'exit point'), that it's the only way I'll be able to be confident that ProTools won't do this.

Anybody have any suggestions here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2021, 08:29 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,476
Default Re: Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

Master fader tracks aren’t delay compensated, but aux tracks are. What happens if you bypass the delay compensation on all of the return aux tracks?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2021, 02:34 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 290
Default Re: Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

The delay compensation is calculated for the physical output. The old Dolby send/return plugin works with plugin inserts that are not physical outputs, but only acts like it. This is the reason delay compensation does not work. This is also the reason the Dolby Bridge playback engine came into life. You are correct, using the RMU on a separate computer will solve this, but you will need a few HDX cards and interfaces to be able to transfer 128 channel to that RMU (32 channels per digiport).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2021, 02:44 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 889
Default Re: Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

YeH, I definitely think this is the reason the Dolby audio bridge exists. I routinely use HDX and route 64 channels out via Dante, through Atmos mastering suite running on a separate computer with DVS. Works great, and not a lick of latency as far as I can tell.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2021, 08:03 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 228
Default Re: Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
YeH, I definitely think this is the reason the Dolby audio bridge exists. I routinely use HDX and route 64 channels out via Dante, through Atmos mastering suite running on a separate computer with DVS. Works great, and not a lick of latency as far as I can tell.

Hi LDS,



I'm trying to setup the same Atmos HE Suite as yours. Could you care to explain (or point your source of info) on how all is connected and configured. Are you using DAMS? Can you get it without all the hardware RMU system? Where you get it?


Really appreciate for all your help.
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix Audio Post


Mac Pro (2013) 3.7GHz Quad Core, 32GB RAM, OS X 10.13.4, PT Ultimate 2018.10, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Avid Sync HD, Avid HD Omni, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2021, 01:43 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 889
Default Re: Major Delay Compensation issues with Dolby Atmos Production Suite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokir View Post
Hi LDS,



I'm trying to setup the same Atmos HE Suite as yours. Could you care to explain (or point your source of info) on how all is connected and configured. Are you using DAMS? Can you get it without all the hardware RMU system? Where you get it?


Really appreciate for all your help.
I just sent you a PM.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB - Dolby Atmos Production Suite License Pro User Buy & Sell 0 01-19-2021 08:22 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite on Westmere 5,1 Stevo499 Post - Surround - Video 1 06-05-2020 07:36 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite (DAPS) bus/bed automation sync issues jamesa5454 Post - Surround - Video 0 03-21-2020 03:29 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 03-13-2019 08:34 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite subhuffer Post - Surround - Video 20 03-10-2019 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com