Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2021, 07:28 AM
OscarBerenger OscarBerenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Le Havre - France
Posts: 5
Default playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Hello everyone,
I recorded a guitar, on which I put the black/shinny wah effect on a midi track. But this effect is not taken into account by the bounce... Do you know this problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2021, 08:54 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

What happens if you commit just this one track? How was the Wah worked?(a pedal, CC data)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2021, 09:22 AM
OscarBerenger OscarBerenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Le Havre - France
Posts: 5
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Thank you for your response!
I tried with only one track, and the Wah-wah control midi track, but it didn't change anything... I did the pedal control with an iPad and TouchOsC Bridge... I tried by copying the tracks in a new session, or by redoing the midi track... Always the same problem...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2021, 11:48 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Can you make a really simple session showing this problem and share it online.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2021, 12:56 PM
OscarBerenger OscarBerenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Le Havre - France
Posts: 5
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Hi Darryl!
I have upload this at this adress :

http://www.oscar-berenger.com/partage/
(8Mo)

if you try to "bounce", you'll notice that the little sound at the end is different from the playback, as if the wah-wah doesn't work...At least with me!
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2021, 03:19 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,624
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

I'm checking out your session, I have BlackShimyWah, and it's not easy to hear the difference active/bypassed, I made two bounces and there is an obvious difference.
It seems the bounce source selection is the clue. On my first bounce, I left it at default, and got the Wah in the result. On the second I selected 888/24 as source, and got the bounce without effect, as in dry.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2021, 10:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Hi Oscar

Ugh MIDI plugin automation and bouncing, I think this is just more brain-dead MIDI behavior in Pro Tools.

The way to get this to work is write the plugin automation into an automation lane on the audio track not in a separate MIDI track. Meaning you use "Plugin Automation Enable" in the plugin GUI to add an automation lane and play in your midi there.

And if you have separate MIDI tacks already with Pro Tools being Pro Tools you can't just copy and paste the MIDI into plugin automation lane, but you can set up the automation lane on the track and then put that track's automation into latch mode and "play in" the automation from the MIDI track.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2021, 02:03 AM
OscarBerenger OscarBerenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Le Havre - France
Posts: 5
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

Thanks to all of you! I'll try and inform you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2021, 02:38 AM
OscarBerenger OscarBerenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Le Havre - France
Posts: 5
Default Re: playback with Black/Shinny wah, and bounce are not the same.

So...
Thanks Ben, but I did not notice any difference with the modifications you propose...
And thank you Darryl! It's working great! Thank you for sharing your knowledge of Protools! Your method will allow me to make a "bounce" of this track without having to start all over again! (in reality, it's not a guitar, but a resonator mandolin, and I had difficulties to make the virtual wah-wah "stick").
Thanks again and have a nice weekend!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black video window when playback lamacchiacosta Getting Started 5 04-10-2020 03:31 AM
Black Video Screen Playback George2000 Pro Tools 2018 0 04-24-2019 07:25 AM
Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro tools? Rockman413 Pro Tools 2018 3 12-25-2018 04:20 PM
Black MIDI Notes??and no Playback?? B-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-19-2003 02:06 PM
how to get that beautiful shinny top end... audio junkie Tips & Tricks 4 08-08-2002 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com