Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2021, 03:15 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Default Input Channels Stuck in Pre-Fader Metering

I just upgraded to PT 2020.11.0 and my input channels are now stuck in pre-fader mode. The meter reads the same whether Pre-Fader Metering is checked or not, with the slider all the way down. Post-fader should show nothing at that setting. The signal drops out with the slider down, as it should, but the meter still reads as if in pre-fader mode.

Is this a bug, and is there a remedy?

Thanks.
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2021, 03:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,063
Default Re: Input Channels Stuck in Pre-Fader Metering

Never heard of this, can anyone reproduce? Lucky you are stuck on pre-fader as that is the more useful mode of the two.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2021, 12:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: Input Channels Stuck in Pre-Fader Metering

Personally, I stay in pre-fade metering for 99.5% of my work. The only reason I ever use post-fade is to quickly balance a bunch of similar tracks(like a dozen violin tracks and a bunch of BG vocals). And, as soon as those tracks are balanced, I switch right back to pre-fade(post-fade is simply not a good way to record or mix). Having said that, the meter still should work as you describe(and it does work that way on my rig running the most recent release), so I would look at a few things:
1-IO settings>Output tab, check the Monitor Path, Audition Path and AFL/PFL Path(they should match your main outputs)
2-Options menu>make sure Pre-Fade Metering is UNchecked

And there is always trashing prefs(worth a try for any "odd" behavior).

If you're wondering why I stick with Pre-fade metering(a fair question), its because I want to know what's going on with the levels within any given track(with post metering, turning the track fader down can mask clipping). Plus, its very possible for 2 tracks to show the same meter level, but not be balanced at all due to frequency content or plugin processing(so try to use your ears more and your eyes less)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2021, 06:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Input Channels Stuck in Pre-Fader Metering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
I just upgraded to PT 2020.11.0 and my input channels are now stuck in pre-fader mode. The meter reads the same whether Pre-Fader Metering is checked or not, with the slider all the way down. Post-fader should show nothing at that setting. The signal drops out with the slider down, as it should, but the meter still reads as if in pre-fader mode.

Is this a bug, and is there a remedy?

Thanks.
There are no other people complaining about this on DUC so it will very likely be something you are doing wrong or a local messed up system.

What type of track is it?

Not sure I can think how it could be this but have record/playback faders uncoupled?

As always start by trashing prefs.

This happen on multiple sessions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Fader vs Post-Fader Metering jphaudio Tips & Tricks 2 12-05-2020 10:35 AM
First Fader of Artist Mix is stuck to whatever Dock fader is mrtomcat Artist Series 10 08-23-2019 01:51 AM
Changing 2mix metering channels on Control 24? pearldrum944 ICON & C|24 0 12-21-2010 12:47 AM
Input monitoring and pre fader metering PROCHIC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-27-2010 04:52 PM
Pre-Fader Metering vs Post-Fader Metering teacherman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-29-2008 07:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com