Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2002, 10:35 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default One more IMPORTANT Sync I/O question

Hello Digi...

thanks to all for helping me sort out Sync I/O and Mix Plus issues. I think I'm just about down to the one more stumper. DIGI, here's the question. Please put your BEST guy on it, because you may have to dwell on it.

According to my Sync I/O manual, the Word Clock input on the Sync I/O is ONLY 1x rate (256 not available). SuperClock is ONLY available on the Sync I/O's Word Clock output. So...if we are trying to use an AardSync to clock the Sync I/O at 48k, the Sync I/O only achieves lock when we use the 1x Word Clock output on the AardSync. (If we take the Superclock output from the AardSync, the Sync I/O will NOT lock.) OK. So, if we use the 1x output on the AardSync into the Sync I/O, and if we use the Sync I/O's menu to set its Base Clock to 256, does this mean that the 888's (and ProTools) are getting Superclock? OR, is SuperClock now only achieved by using the Sync I/O on Internal? As you may know, with the USD, there was a separate 256 input, so many studios would take the 256 output of their Aardsync into the 256 input on the USD, thus achieving a 256 chain. Is this now IMPOSSIBLE on the Sync I/O or does it somehow take in 1x from the AardSync, yet spit out 256 to the 888's?

I would LOVE to know the correct answer to this question. Many thanks in advance if you can answer this one!

J
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2002, 09:47 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: One more IMPORTANT Sync I/O question

.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2002, 11:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: One more IMPORTANT Sync I/O question

Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyv:
According to my Sync I/O manual, the Word Clock input on the Sync I/O is ONLY 1x rate (256 not available). SuperClock is ONLY available on the Sync I/O's Word Clock output. So...if we are trying to use an AardSync to clock the Sync I/O at 48k, the Sync I/O only achieves lock when we use the 1x Word Clock output on the AardSync. (If we take the Superclock output from the AardSync, the Sync I/O will NOT lock.)
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">So far, all correct.

Quote:
OK. So, if we use the 1x output on the AardSync into the Sync I/O, and if we use the Sync I/O's menu to set its Base Clock to 256, does this mean that the 888's (and ProTools) are getting Superclock? OR, is SuperClock now only achieved by using the Sync I/O on Internal?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Given a Base Clock setting of 256, you will get SuperClock out of the Sync I/O Word Clock Output with any choice of Clock Reference setting, not just Internal. However, keep in mind that SuperClock doesn't "scale" with the 2X and 4X sample rates. For example, if you set the Sync I/O Sample Rate to 88.2 kHz, the SuperClock coming out will remain at the equivalent of a 44.1 kHz sample rate.

Quote:
As you may know, with the USD, there was a separate 256 input, so many studios would take the 256 output of their Aardsync into the 256 input on the USD, thus achieving a 256 chain. Is this now IMPOSSIBLE on the Sync I/O or does it somehow take in 1x from the AardSync, yet spit out 256 to the 888's?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Per the above, you can take in 1X (or 2X or 4X) from an AardSync and get out 1X-based SuperClock from the Sync I/O

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2002, 12:15 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: One more IMPORTANT Sync I/O question

thanks so much, Brent...that clears a lot up for us!

J
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just one important question? shea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-24-2010 11:19 PM
important Question maz_records ICON & C|24 7 05-31-2009 10:47 PM
Important ADC Question 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-25-2007 09:02 AM
Wat?****Important Question*** UniQueMusiQ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-01-2007 04:31 AM
ADC important question. Magri Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-13-2007 06:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com