Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2005, 09:14 AM

Default Wat would you say my chances are.

If I have been producing for 6 years now on my own, I go to college and get a degree in music, that I would actually land a job or internship in a studio? I'm most likley still gonna do it but I just wanna know how many people here are struggling looking for work after getting degrees. Thanks
Old 03-17-2005, 09:58 AM

Default Re: Wat would you say my chances are.

3 chances.... slim, fat and none...

Just kidding, if you drop out of college early enough then maybe you can work up the ladder quicker and get that grammy for best engineered album. The only reason you'd need a degree in music is if you plan to teach music, otherwise it's a waste of time and money. Just put in your time and dues and you'll get the work. Oh and start developing that thick skin cause you'll need that too.

Good Luck,

RS
Old 03-17-2005, 10:02 AM

Oh and one more thing, it'd be a waste of a degree just to be and intern fetching coffee and ketchup for ungrateful "artists" don't cha think? Gotta think twice about the intern at a major studio.

RS
Old 03-17-2005, 10:39 AM