Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2009, 11:11 AM
Moog1970 Moog1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Default How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Hello. I am editing a one hour audio recording of a live concert.
When it reaches its final state on CD I would like for the listener to be able to listen to it as a whole, but if they like be able to press the track forward button and move on to the next track or piece.

Can anyone tell me how to do this?

At this point I can only think to bounce each section as its own AIFF, line them up in iTunes, indicate zero break between tracks and burn it this way, but I am sure there must be a better way.

I also have access to Toast 7 basic, but have never used it.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:06 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

I'm not sure if Toast will do the CD indexing or not.. I could not find confirmation on the Roxio website..

The only software I'm aware of that will do that is Peak.. Not sure if the LE version will do it, but the full version will..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2009, 06:42 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Try Fission from Rogue Amoeba (the Audio Hijack people). It has a split function that will breakup long files so you won't have to bounce individually, but you'll still have to move the resulting files to Toast or iTunes for the burn.

http://rogueamoeba.com/fission/

Cheap and easy. Check out the demo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2009, 07:54 AM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Pro Tools does not do this, however it can be done in Pro Tools.

This is the method I used all the time in the late 90's when I was recording Techno mixes and making CD's that played without pauses.

----
Open a new session and import your final mix.
Basically, you are going to cut your file using Apple+E at the points where you want your track to start. Once you have your "songs" chosen in this manner, you have the option of

Export Regions as files, or bounce to disk.

I usually use bounce to disk as when I am prepping for a CD burn, that means I am applying at least some small degree of mastering or dithering and so I put that on the master fader.

Just go through the "songs" one by one and bounce them. It really is very easy although this part can be time consuming as there is no offline bounce.

I always make a file inside my project folder labeled "Bounces" and then place them all in there.

Try using a standard set of labels such as:

01 - Hit the Bricks
02 - Kick Rocks
03 - Shove Off
and so on.

This way when you drag them into your burning program they will stay in the correct order so you don't have to mess with it.

After all you already spent an hour bouncing to disk.

HTH
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2009, 08:01 AM
Pepo Pepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 165
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Cd spin doctor, wich comes with toast, does a decent job.
It doesnt cut the file, just makes an index, so you get seemless playback. If you separate in regions in protools, there may be a little jump from one track to the next.
Pepo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2009, 08:35 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

I also have gotten into the habit of creating a separate "Bounces" folder in my PT song folder.

I don't know about Toast 7, but Toast Titanium includes Jam, which can make seamless, zero-gap cuts between songs. I've done several live CDs using it. Just separate the songs where you want the index marker. bounce in PT, and then line them up in Toast/Jam, you can even move the index marker one way or the other regardless of where the file split is. IOW, you could decide to nudge the index after the fact, tighten up the songs by eliminating a little in-between chatter or, crossfade between them.

An upgrade from the Toast you have should be under $100.

Don't use iTunes. I don't think it can do truly gapless cuts, even though you tell it to.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:59 AM
jpbears1 jpbears1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 69
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwilliam View Post

I don't know about Toast 7, but Toast Titanium includes Jam,
Larry,
What version of Toast Titanium includes Jam? I have Toast 8 Titanium and have never been able to find Jam.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:02 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbears1 View Post
Larry,
What version of Toast Titanium includes Jam? I have Toast 8 Titanium and have never been able to find Jam.
I've looked on their website a few times trying to figure out that question..

The info on their site is terrible...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:15 AM
Fomin Fomin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moscow,Russia
Posts: 14
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

HairerSoft Amadeus Pro allows you to do that : just import your final mix to Amadeus Pro , insert markers where you want and press Burn button . Each marker will be your next track - very easy , just like in Cd Architect by Sony on PC side.
I have burned many Dj-mix cd's this way. http://www.hairersoft.com/AmadeusPro...oFeatures.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:26 AM
jpbears1 jpbears1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 69
Default Re: How do I make CD "indexes" in a long audio track?

If you're on a Mac - you can also check out WaveBurner Pro. It is $499, but includes several other key software packages including a DAW program.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the long run: "PT10 Student + CPTK" or "PT10HD"? Funky Monk Pro Tools 10 22 03-16-2013 09:46 PM
"unable to locate m-audio hardware. Make sure device is connected and powered on" bfreshmoney Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-01-2010 06:38 AM
"access violation " protools can not make auto backup " nachonieto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-16-2008 03:54 PM
unable to make my FW drive "audio record volume" andycopeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-18-2008 08:11 AM
If I "Remove Unused Regions" after "Consolidate", track won't play? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-02-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com