Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2017, 04:29 PM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Curious what everyone's experience is. I have Pro Tools 12 in a pro studio but I picked up a Scarlett interface to use as a mobile pre-amp for my laptop for room measurement using Smart software. I thought since Pro Tools First came with it I would go ahead and load it and use it for mobile recording - to then transfer files to Pro Tools 12 on my scary PC in the studio.

Issues:
1 - I can't use it without an internet connection = no mobile use for field recording with my laptop.
2 - limit of 3 sessions/projects at a time = can't record an album

Am I missing something?

3 - After installing Pro Tools first my laptop seemed to have a virus all of a sudden. After some investigating I found the software was trying to run stuff in the background, during start up, and every time I turned my Wifi on.

After removing everything my laptop is fine again. And I like ProTools 12 on my big machine when it doesn't poop it's pants. And the Scarlett works great as a mic pre and also came with Focusrite Red Eq and Comp so I got my $100 worth.

Just kinda bummed that First didn't work as a small scale mobile system for me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2017, 04:52 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,270
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Welcome to the community.
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorsound View Post
1 - I can't use it without an internet connection = no mobile use for field recording with my laptop.
You do need an internet connection to create Projects, but can then work offline.
Quote:
2 - limit of 3 sessions/projects at a time = can't record an album
There is indeed a limit of 3 Projects, but you could have multiple 'songs' in a Project (starting at different points in the timeline).
Quote:
3 - After installing Pro Tools first my laptop seemed to have a virus all of a sudden. After some investigating I found the software was trying to run stuff in the background, during start up, and every time I turned my Wifi on.
Just when launching PTF or ?

Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2017, 07:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Some thoughts to ponder:
1-PT First is really a "teaser" and will likely disappoint anyone that uses regular Pro Tools some of the time.
2-You CAN choose to uninstall the App Manager.
3-as said, you would need an internet connection to create a "Project", but you can create a "Session" without a connection.
4-You could choose a different DAW for the laptop(like Cuckos Reaper) that are cheap or free. Its pretty easy to export wave files for each track and import them into a Pro Tools session on another system.
5-post a Sandra report on the laptop so the experts can maybe spot some hardware issue you might not be aware of(for instance, if you are trying to record to the laptop's internal drive, and its NOT an approved drive. Many laptops use a 5400 RPM drive, which is bad for recording
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2017, 05:47 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 226
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

I think the fact that it even came out is a bummer. Seeing Avid spend time, money and - first of all - manpower on a project like this, when the company itself and their main products, for which I paid a lot of money, are in such a dire state.
It's so typical for Avid, they want it all, the advertising factor and the money. So they release a free feature-limited product but with limited storage and it is incompatible to their main product but then ... offer a paid storage upgrade......

Instead they should either have released:
- a feature-limited free product with unlimited storage that is compatible to the main product. So kids can work from their bedroom, then mix at that friend's studio... and buy the whole thing when they have gotten used to it and have the money.
or
- an time-unlimited demo version of the full product, limited to 3 projects. This wouldn't be suitable for professionals, but would allow students and newcomers to explore the powerful potential of the software.

But no, it's Avid...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:41 AM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Exactly Sonopolis - I thought they used to have a feature/track limited version of the software for exactly that purpose and thought that was what I was getting.

I thought First would only record to the web - instead of the internal HD. I was not able to get it open a session without WiFi. I saw a reply about being able to work offline after the session is initiated. I was unable to do that but I am not going to try it again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:46 AM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Jeffro - I realize I could do multiple songs in any of the three sessions but if I can't record to my own internal HD then I am limited to ??gigs of online storage until I BUY more online storage.

Is there a way to run First and record directly to your audio HD?

I am OK with the idea of online storage as a 2nd or 3rd back up. But not with streaming online audio to run a session.

I realize that getting First as free software would be fun for someone that isn't working on serious projects. Fun for a classroom tool as long as it is going to get erased each hour for the next class.

Still happy with the Scarlett for the purpose I bought it for and the free plugs also made it a smart purchase for $100.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:49 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

I understood it is part of collaboration.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:50 AM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

Jeffro - my PC seemed to have a virus immediately after installing First. It didn't matter if I was actually running First or not. As soon as my PC fired up I could open task manager and watch as First starting running applications. It would also automatically high-light some of my desktop folders (mainly the First icon) and create some other weird visual glitches.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2017, 04:33 PM
Chris J Chris J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

First time poster here, yes, Pro Tools first is a bummer.
I CANNOT get it to work with my Scarlett Focusrite 18i8.
My computer is a Dell with a dua core i7 processor, I have 8GB of RAM and am fed up with Pro Tools|First.
I think I'll try using something else, anything but Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2017, 09:47 PM
BlackHelicopter BlackHelicopter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone else think Pro Tools first is a bummer?

+1 for the OP.

This software is horrific. Nothing works.

AVID - What were you guys thinking putting this lousy pile of garbage out into the wild?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bummer francois ICON & C|24 3 01-03-2013 08:28 PM
Pro Tools Bummer ozzi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-08-2007 04:37 PM
Bummer! Bazzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-16-2004 08:07 AM
PT 6 LE Bummer who 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-22-2003 12:19 AM
Bummer... Compression Records MIDI 5 05-01-2001 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com