Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2011, 07:12 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Smile Same idea, different solution.

There is a similar post about this same subject so I hope that I'm not causing any issues with this one. Anyway, on the subject of running a hardware effects send/return in Pro tools. My interface is a 2 in by 2 out, (analog) and I use a hardware mixer. As an experiment, I plan on creating a duplicate lead vocal track from a previously recorded one to start. Ordinarily I return the interface outputs 1 & 2, L-R to 2 channel strips on the mixer for playback but, this time I would use a different mixer channel strip to return the newly created vocal track playback to the mixer.(I.E.),by assigning it to output 2, mono in PT's. Now, if I'm right, I can go from the insert send on that mixer channel strip to the effects (reverb) box, and then return the signal to the unused interface input in Pt's (input 2,mono), to another newly created mono track in PT's, assigned input 2 mono. Put that track in record and punch the play button. That way, if it works, I'll wind up with a new track with effect and I can use the PT's fader for that track to regulate the reverb effect on mix down ! Does this sound like it might work? I've gone through page after page on the send/return subject in the manual. since I'm a hardware guy it just sounds easier to me and less complicated. How about added latency ? Would that be a problem. Any danger of zapping PT's or the i/o ? (This may be a real stupid solution and anyone who wants to tell me to just go by the rules, that's ok with me. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2011, 09:46 AM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Same idea, different solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Wetzel View Post
There is a similar post about this same subject so I hope that I'm not causing any issues with this one. Anyway, on the subject of running a hardware effects send/return in Pro tools. My interface is a 2 in by 2 out, (analog) and I use a hardware mixer. As an experiment, I plan on creating a duplicate lead vocal track from a previously recorded one to start. Ordinarily I return the interface outputs 1 & 2, L-R to 2 channel strips on the mixer for playback but, this time I would use a different mixer channel strip to return the newly created vocal track playback to the mixer.(I.E.),by assigning it to output 2, mono in PT's. Now, if I'm right, I can go from the insert send on that mixer channel strip to the effects (reverb) box, and then return the signal to the unused interface input in Pt's (input 2,mono), to another newly created mono track in PT's, assigned input 2 mono. Put that track in record and punch the play button. That way, if it works, I'll wind up with a new track with effect and I can use the PT's fader for that track to regulate the reverb effect on mix down ! Does this sound like it might work? I've gone through page after page on the send/return subject in the manual. since I'm a hardware guy it just sounds easier to me and less complicated. How about added latency ? Would that be a problem. Any danger of zapping PT's or the i/o ? (This may be a real stupid solution and anyone who wants to tell me to just go by the rules, that's ok with me. Thanks
Hey terry,
IF it works for you do it.. but this way does not allow for Delay Compensation. (look up "inserts" in the manual). You will probably end up with some kind of comb filtering playing those back, and may need to nudge the region around
And unless you are using some amazing hardware reverb.. you would be much better off doing all of this inside of Pro Tools, either by using a buss to send the audio to an Aux track with your effect (verb, delay, whatever) instanced. Or by merely duplicating the vocal track and instancing a verb on the duplicate and mix the two together to taste. Always a good idea (even with ADC) to instance the same plugin in the original track and bypass it, creating no margin for error with ADC. Good luck. SB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2011, 11:07 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default Re: Same idea, different solution.

Thanks, Bailey Bass. I kind of expected that. I guess I should follow your advice, do it right and quit looking for shortcuts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2011, 01:26 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,354
Default Re: Same idea, different solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Wetzel View Post
Thanks, Bailey Bass. I kind of expected that. I guess I should follow your advice, do it right and quit looking for shortcuts.
It's never a bad thing to experiment, this is how you will learn new things that maybe the majority doesn't even know. or get a certain sound that you fall in love with.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I/O idea.. Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-27-2009 04:20 PM
I had no idea... Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-12-2004 01:09 AM
Good Idea/ Bad Idea Slade General Discussion 0 07-24-2003 07:30 PM
onboard sound, good idea/bad idea?! sampb7 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 02-22-2003 02:44 AM
I have no idea what I hit... Travis Mitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-15-2002 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com