Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2011, 11:38 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 273
Default Exporting mix with vari-speed

Hi Guys,
My client wants a mix vari- speeded up 1/4 step, or half a semitone, aproximately 45.5xx KHZ.
its 44.1 session, Im guessing theres a pull down or pull up, or some formula that I choose when exporting the stereo mix file, that will get us where we need to be?

short of plugging in a external two track recorder like a master link, and hitting it analog, Im stumped as to how to make this happen.

thanks for your ideas and time.
Sean
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2011, 06:24 AM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Exporting mix with vari-speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McDude View Post
Hi Guys,
My client wants a mix vari- speeded up 1/4 step, or half a semitone, aproximately 45.5xx KHZ.
its 44.1 session, Im guessing theres a pull down or pull up, or some formula that I choose when exporting the stereo mix file, that will get us where we need to be?

short of plugging in a external two track recorder like a master link, and hitting it analog, Im stumped as to how to make this happen.

thanks for your ideas and time.
Sean
Do you want it faster and higher in pitch?
Assuming you Record to Track (your master), then use "export region as files" and in the sample rate window choose "custom"... I presume this will give you what you want.
TCE, and Elastic Audio can manage this as well, with varying levels of difficulty and artifacts.
As can the AudioSuite plug-in Pitch Shift, which may give you exactly what you need. SB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:21 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 273
Default Re: Exporting mix with vari-speed

Thanks SB,
Yes, we want increased tempo and pitch.
Not a fan of elastic audio or pitch n time for this kind of application.

The custom export rate makes sense,
I guess I couldn't get my head wrapped around what happens when youexport at that the custom rate, then go to 44.1 for the cd burn.

Do you compensate for the final down sample to 44.1 when you do the custom export?

Thanks again.
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vari-speed enmoreaudio Pro Tools 9 3 11-14-2013 07:03 AM
Vari Speed lgreen100 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-26-2010 11:12 PM
vari speed? jim2step Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2005 02:50 AM
Vari-speed help scottgreiner Tips & Tricks 10 08-02-2002 01:12 PM
vari-speed? srevitte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-23-2000 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com