Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-01-2011, 03:03 PM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Don't know where you got your current draw from for a desktop unit.
Consumption and "requirements" are two different things.

I base my statement on actually operating several of them, from a G5 2.7, a 2007 intel, 2009, and 2011... and then actually measuring their current consumption. Have you tried that? SB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-01-2011, 03:54 PM
bonfi64 bonfi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milan italy
Posts: 148
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

you want to know about power consumption because you are calculating how many watt needed for a UPS sistem? are you shy to tell or what?
if you are just curious, answer my question:
HOW MANY TREES WILL BE DESTROYED to produce electric supply in a pro tools session?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:19 PM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 802
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Actually the Digidesign stuff including Digi 192 draws a extremely high amount of power being just a ADDA converter !
It is almost in parity with a Mac Pro when the Mac Pro is idling. When going max a Mac Pro draws slightly more. You can see how much with the "Hardware monitor" application.
http://www.bresink.com/osx/HardwareMonitor.html
Anyway, let´s say the overall Mac Pro power in a normal session is 350Watt vs Digi 192 200watt.
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:50 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

From Avid rep direct back in November last year:

"The standard 8x8x8 configuration is 50W typical and can peak to about 55W in certain conditions."

Ceri
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2011, 05:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,428
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyBass View Post
Consumption and "requirements" are two different things.

I base my statement on actually operating several of them, from a G5 2.7, a 2007 intel, 2009, and 2011... and then actually measuring their current consumption. Have you tried that? SB
Yep via the method I mentioned earlier. For a fully loaded MacPro I got close to 10 amps.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-02-2011, 08:19 AM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Yep via the method I mentioned earlier. For a fully loaded MacPro I got close to 10 amps.
I believe there is something wrong with your system, or your testing method. Perhaps you have a 60" monitor, and are measuring more than the computer itself.
The macpro that i am typing this on has 16g of RAM, 4 drives.... I have 11 programs open, and for the heck of it am playing a Huge PT session, and have 7 quicktime movies going simultaneously... about 2.4 amps.

You are either mistaken, or just making things up, not owning a mac pro..

I think the PSU on the macpro is only rated at 7.5 amps (IOW, it cannot even deliver 10amps)... or close to that.

I would have not even responded to such an errant post, but this info is important to folks buying a PSA for their systems.. SB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-02-2011, 12:21 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,428
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyBass View Post
I believe there is something wrong with your system, or your testing method. Perhaps you have a 60" monitor, and are measuring more than the computer itself.
The macpro that i am typing this on has 16g of RAM, 4 drives.... I have 11 programs open, and for the heck of it am playing a Huge PT session, and have 7 quicktime movies going simultaneously... about 2.4 amps.

You are either mistaken, or just making things up, not owning a mac pro..

I think the PSU on the macpro is only rated at 7.5 amps (IOW, it cannot even deliver 10amps)... or close to that.

I would have not even responded to such an errant post, but this info is important to folks buying a PSA for their systems.. SB
What a power supply can deliver has no relation to what it draws from the AC incoming power other than the more power drawn by a circuit the more power is drawn from the incoming AC. You have inefficiencies in the conversion from AC to DC. Deliver 10 amps - on which voltage buss?

And you complain about me editing my posts to suit my story (about the power cable thread)? What about the deletion you made in this post where in the email notification you said: "Stop making things up, and then rewriting your previous posts to suit your story. (the part about the power cable)" You're doing the same thing here - editing posts to suit your story. FYI the edit I made in that thread was to clarify an error I made in the original post.

And I know what I'm measuring in current draw and how to do it the right way. I've been working in electronics since way before you were born dude. And how do you know whether I own a MacPro or not? The system I measured this on has (4) 2 gig non-green drives, 64 gig ram, (2) UAD2 Quad omni, MOTU pcie-424 card for the internals. And it's just the MacPro itself I measured and peak draws are hitting close to 10 amps. Steady draws are probably closer to 7 amps.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-02-2011, 12:57 PM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
What a power supply can deliver has no relation to what it draws from the AC incoming power other than the more power drawn by a circuit the more power is drawn from the incoming AC. You have inefficiencies in the conversion from AC to DC. Deliver 10 amps - on which voltage buss?

And you complain about me editing my posts to suit my story (about the power cable thread)? What about the deletion you made in this post where in the email notification you said: "Stop making things up, and then rewriting your previous posts to suit your story. (the part about the power cable)" You're doing the same thing here - editing posts to suit your story. FYI the edit I made in that thread was to clarify an error I made in the original post.

And I know what I'm measuring in current draw and how to do it the right way. I've been working in electronics since way before you were born dude. And how do you know whether I own a MacPro or not? The system I measured this on has (4) 2 gig non-green drives, 64 gig ram, (2) UAD2 Quad omni, MOTU pcie-424 card for the internals. And it's just the MacPro itself I measured and peak draws are hitting close to 10 amps. Steady draws are probably closer to 7 amps.
My final post in this inane discussion. I did edit my post to be less inflammatory, after realizing who/what I am dealing with.
I don't mind being wrong on this. i also don't mind that you have a unique, one of a kind, macpro.
Simple as this... I have measured all the other computers that I earlier mentioned, along with every piece of gear in their respective studios, individually and combined. This was for UPS implementation. We also have Furmans with ammeters built in...
No need for a pissing contest, you win. Your MAC is "bigger" than all in the world. It draws 10amps.(well, it started at 12, went to 10, and now 7) Congrats! You still win.

Try going to your NRA site and tell them that you shoot 9mm cartridges out of a .22. You can probably find a place on the internet that confirms it, and you say you can... so. No different than what you are doing here. Rock on. The smell is clear. I've smelled it before. done! SB

Quote:
(4) 2 gig non-green drives
Now, that I believe!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:05 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,428
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

The 12 amps is the Apple spec
The 10 amps was what I was seeing as peak current draw
The 7 amps was what I was seeing as steady current draw
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-02-2011, 11:48 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital

12A for a single Mac Pro is too much! LOL
Rush/ Start up current that high???
Never heard about this!

55W for an HD IO or a 192 Digital seems reasonable since the old Adat Bridges drained 30W.
Thanks.
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yamaha MYAE96 or MY16-AE AES-3 to connect 192IO Digital and future HD IO D Alécio Costa Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 06-02-2014 06:26 PM
Digital noise through power amp bazeboiee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2012 08:45 PM
Newbie Digital IO question - HD Digital i/o vs 192 Digital vs X-HD mrdosun Pro Tools 10 1 02-16-2012 11:20 PM
Question to PT HD + 192IO Digital and 02r96 users Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-30-2010 09:46 PM
Mbox 2 power consumption? How much of a power load is this spaids 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-30-2007 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com