Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 459
Default Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

Wondering if anyone would chime in here and give some suggestions as I'm out of options.

I have a MacBook pro Mid 2014 2.8GHz Model. Protools 2018.12 (model
11,3) 16 gigs ram. Im running mac os Sierra 12.12.6.
I keep getting loads of AAE -9173 errors constantly. To boot the computer and protools version are 100% approved by AVID!

I've done the whole AVID B***S*** system optimization rigamarole, have tossed prefs etc... nothings helped so far.

I also Have a late 2012 MacMini 2.6GHz ( which is a slower machine).
This Macmini with the same project -same RAM- same attached hard drives-same Mac OS (basically a clone of the laptop) NEVER gives me errors and runs super smooth.

I've had other issues with other Mac laptop years as well, specifically the 2015 MacBook Pro had major issues as well, hence why i sold it and bought the 2014 Model since AVID approve the model. Both above mentioned machines are approved by avid , my OS is approved, both computers have the same amount of ram etc... I've gone thru the avid system tweaks set up guide and made sure the laptop follows recommendations but I still get these errors; with the macmini none of this happens! whats going on? any ideas or suggestions?

Side note I had a 2012 core i7 17 inch lap top before and that unit was also rock solid. WTF? Youd think a 2.8 GHz unit would fit the bill.



Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,225
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

Saying you have done “everything” tells us nothing about what you have actually done. So what my exactly have you tried? I will bet good money it is not *everything*.

Have you removed all third party plugin files from the plugin folder? Tried with new empty sessions? Tried from a new admin user account? Tested with a full clean macOS install? Tested with Built-In output? ... all fairly standard troubleshooting stuff.

When did the problem start? Did it ever work OK?

What interfaces are you using?


IO buffer size? Disk cache size? Sample rate? You tracking or mixing? .. some clues there would be nice.

Get disk cache set to several GB if you can. Ignore errors unchecked. Dynamic plugin processing not checked. Can you make the issue go away at very large IO Buffer sizes?



What exact model number/EMC code Macs do you have? What exact make/model/spec drives and where are your sessions and VI samples stored. The CPU speed is the least interesting spec, give us more useful info/specs for all your systems.

If your Mac mini is working great then one useful test is to clone its boot drive and boot the MacBook Pro from it and test with that.... grab a spare external SSD and this should be easy to do. You got Carbon Copy Cloner? Existing external backups (on fast disks) for the Mac mini ... try booting them on the Mac Book Pro. (Still need accurate Mac system info to know how best you should do that). ... saying you have “basically” a clone of the laptop is not helpful, you need to test with exact clones.

——

But the other issue here is 2019.5 is such a better release than 2018.x or 12 or 11... are you in a position where you can spend time testing that instead?

——

The last thing I would do is buy one Mac model vs another because it is on Avid’s near useless and very out of date approved hardware list. You will get much better advice if you just ask here. And please stop fixating on CPU clock speed.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-08-2019 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2019, 08:24 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 459
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

Thanks for your reply. Apprecaite the Insight.

I didn't do EVERYRHING...lol.. I did what avid suggested and I did put the exact model of the laptop in my post.
15" Mid 2014 MacBook pro. Intel core i7 2.8GHz.
Model identifier : MacBook Pro 11,3

Issues have always happened.
I installed a fresh OS didnt clone it from another computer ..

I'll try a new user account and I'll try booting off my macmini. See if that makes a difference.

I'm strictly mixing and I'm using max buffer size. I'm an audio post mixer. No VI in my sessions.

The laptop craps out on the same session where the Macmini doesn't.
I thought I was clear on that?

I am not running hardware just software PT 2018.12 Ultimate.
Using protools aggregate i/o
On the computers. I've tried other iterations of the native i/o no difference.

This is my remote rig.
My main mix rig works flawlessly and the macmini is also a remote rig , no hardware just software and that's flawless. All drives are SSD!!




Why would you turn off dynamic plugin hosting why would that make a difference. Wouldn't that suck even more CPU?

I'll go thru your list and try.. what a pain and time consuming BS!


Cheers

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2019, 08:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,225
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

You should try disabling dynamic plugin processing because it can cause problems. I would not have suggested it otherwise

AAE-9173 are not necessarily literally you are running out of total CPU, often it’s a very high speed glitch in the latency caused by something. Some plugins seem to have problems with dynamic plugin processing. I know developers that think it should never have been implemented. That may be one thing improved in 2019.5 (the first version I have left to run with dynamic plugin processing on).

What disk is the session on? In each case? “SSD” is not enough info, what make/model/spec and if in an external case etc how is it connected.

Sample rate? ... give some idea of session size/complexity?

Disk cache size?

Have you tried running the session off the internal boot SSD? If not you can try that. But importantly wherever the sessions are make sure the disk cache is set to a few GB at least and that when you start the session into memory watch the cache meter and make sure the session fully loads (meter goes green) with room to spare. Yep disk issues can trip up 9173 errors.

... but Plugins would be a first guess, so good you tested that. But to be clear the test you want to do is try moving all .aaxplugin files out of the plugin folder, trash prefs and restart Pro Tools, if you did not try that give it another go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2019, 10:41 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,792
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

And why are you using appregate? If you have the MBP then use the internal audio and try that if you dont have a interface. If you have a interface then use that units drivers and not PT aggregate. That is famous for causing issues.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2019, 04:38 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 459
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

I've tried all output options honestly.. aggregate seems better than the internal output.

I'll take the time to try all these options your suggesting. Appreciate all the feedback.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2019, 04:44 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 459
Default Re: Mac Book mid 2014 2.8 GHz 16 gigs ram

As for trying out protools 2019.5; I didnt renew my subscription last December.. was fed up of paying and getting very little in return. I'll download a demo version and license and give it a go as well.

Thanks again.



Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMF from FCP 7 2.2 gigs can any app open it? Brandonx1 Post - Surround - Video 1 03-29-2018 08:47 AM
4 Gigs of RAM good or bad? ikelk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-22-2007 08:56 PM
Red Book VS. Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-22-1999 10:51 AM
Red Book VS Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Tips & Tricks 0 10-19-1999 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com