How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-24-2013, 12:50 PM

Default Boom Recording

Hi everyone,

I am VERY new to Pro Tools. Im a singer who just wants to sing...so I figured I'd try to learn pro tools so I can create a place to put it all together.

My question (after a fiasco installing my Pro Tools EXpress) is: I am trying to record the Boom VI.

Currently I:

Open a new session
Add a stereo Instrument track (I/O -Bus1-2)
Add Boom

Add stereo Audio track (I/O - Bus 1-2)
Enable recording

Record with my record/play bar...

Nothing.
Old 05-24-2013, 07:16 PM

Default Re: Boom Recording

#1-saying "(I/O -Bus1-2)" is misleading. Is the INPUT set to Bus1-2, or the OUTPUT? Same question for the AUDIO track. Not trying to be funny or insulting, but since I know nothing of your experience, be aware that many newbies don't understand IO or signal flow.

Back to BOOM, this plugin is NOT a drummer substitute. Its a "beat box: for hip-hop and rap. For me, BOOM has always been odd to use and I usually create a pattern on the dot matrix in the plugin(hit the PLAY button inside the plugin to hear the pattern). Then I set the Instrument track Output to a stereo bus, create a stereo AUDIO track. Set the AUDIO tracks' input the the same bus, enable record and print a few bars of the pattern. Then I chop it(in GRID mode) on even bars and repeat(Alt-R) or duplicate it(Alt-D). If you want what sounds like a regular drummer and kit, look into Addictive Drums. While there are other options, this plugin ticks all the boxes and can often be bought on sale for $99(and at that price, its amazing). Check out some youtube videos on ANY plugin you are curious about, or want to learn