Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2018, 11:11 PM
dB-Pro's Avatar
dB-Pro dB-Pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Amman
Posts: 11
Default Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Hello,

So I read the manual, no need to refer me to it, but the SSL G comp's Fade options are weird for me.
The fade out works just fine; Ill set the amount of time, and when I click fade out, it fades out every time.
The fade in however only Fades In after a fade out, and never from the start of the song.
So, I set the amount of time, I automate the fade in button to be pressed at the beginning of a song, then when I press play, it would not fade in.
Here is the only time it works, After a fade out, If I click fade in again, it'll fade in.
Am I missing something here? because if thats how its supposed to work then its pretty useless.
And yes I know I could just automate the master fader for the fades.
Does anyone have experience with that option and can tell me what its meant for and how does it work?
I mean according to the manual, and common sense, when I click fade in, it should start from -inf to unity....

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro (Early 2009)
El Capitan (10.11.6)
Protools HD 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2018, 04:43 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,457
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

It’s behaving exactly like hardware does. You must lower the level of the VCA (fade out ) before you can fade back in.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2018, 05:36 AM
shredir shredir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 16
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
It’s behaving exactly like hardware does. You must lower the level of the VCA (fade out ) before you can fade back in.


So from the plug in it self? Like press/automate fade out then fade in. Or fade out the bus's vca before the fade in?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2018, 03:00 PM
hjlphilp hjlphilp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: US
Posts: 1
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Yea I always wondered about this

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2018, 03:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,129
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Quote:
Originally Posted by shredir View Post
So from the plug in it self? Like press/automate fade out then fade in. Or fade out the bus's vca before the fade in?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Read how the actual hardware works and you'll get it.
http://www.solidstatelogic.com/studi...ssor/documents
(see owner's manual)
The vca in reference is that this is a vca compressor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2018, 01:01 AM
shredir shredir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 16
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Read how the actual hardware works and you'll get it.

http://www.solidstatelogic.com/studi...ssor/documents

(see owner's manual)

The vca in reference is that this is a vca compressor

Hello,
I read that as well. I know how to fade in and out using the device, and I get that it’s done so that the compressor settings doesn’t change with the fades.
But I’m confused as to why I have to fade out, then fade in, before a song starts so that I could fade in.
Was it a hardware limitation and waves are simply keeping it true to the original or what exactly?

Sorry for being anal about this but I really need to know


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2018, 01:56 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Think about it for a moment. A fade is an automatic volume control that goes from 0% to 100% no matter if it's analog or digital. Do you think you it is possible to make fade in (analog or digital) if the volume is already on 100%?

The solution for you is to leave a few seconds before the song and use fade out in that part so the volume goes to 0% before the audio begins, this way it will be possible to put it back to 100% with a fade in.

It could have been possible to make a setting where the volume was set to 0 as the starting point but that not how the plug was designed, probably to stay faithful to the hardware
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2018, 04:15 AM
shredir shredir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 16
Default Re: Waves SSL G Buss Comp - Weird fade in

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Think about it for a moment. A fade is an automatic volume control that goes from 0% to 100% no matter if it's analog or digital. Do you think you it is possible to make fade in (analog or digital) if the volume is already on 100%?

The solution for you is to leave a few seconds before the song and use fade out in that part so the volume goes to 0% before the audio begins, this way it will be possible to put it back to 100% with a fade in.

It could have been possible to make a setting where the volume was set to 0 as the starting point but that not how the plug was designed, probably to stay faithful to the hardware


Great
Thanks yes it does make sense in a analog way.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPF side chain with mix buss waves SSL comp Raoul23 General Discussion 0 09-11-2012 01:50 PM
Waves SSL master buss comp not working converted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 02-19-2009 09:02 AM
Weird problem with Waves Ren Comp and levels. steins Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 12-16-2008 01:56 AM
Waves SSL EChannel & G Buss Comp Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 02-08-2006 01:09 AM
does anyone use a comp on an aux buss? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-16-2005 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com