Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2020, 06:21 PM
Matthiew Matthiew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default Pcie disappears

Hi,

My PCIe card disappears after quit Pro Tools. I no longer see it in my MIDI Audio Setup Mac. I have to restart my computer to see it appear again.

BUT...I don't have to restart my computer to still be able to use pro tools. It is displayed in the playback engine

My drivers are up to date

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
Mac Pro Mid-2010
Mac OS Sierra

Any ideas ?

Thanks
Matth
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2020, 02:05 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: Pcie disappears

What card?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2020, 03:08 PM
Matthiew Matthiew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pcie disappears

Picie Card HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2020, 01:55 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: Pcie disappears

Hmmm, seems odd, but..... I know Windows users usually need to set Windows to NOT use the PT interface as the "default playback device". It may be worth trying this on your Mac to see what happens
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:40 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: Pcie disappears

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Hmmm, seems odd, but..... I know Windows users usually need to set Windows to NOT use the PT interface as the "default playback device". It may be worth trying this on your Mac to see what happens
Macs don't have that problem. You can have a Mac set to not use your audio card for system sounds though which is what I do. You can still hear You Tube audio in your daw audio I/O.

Since this is a cheesegrater in use I'd open up the case and clean out all the dust bunnies. Because Apple in their infinite wisdom decided to NOT put any kind of filter on the air intake at the front of the case after a while a whole lot of dust will collect inside. I clean mine out at least once a year. Just because you may have no open windows in the studio doesn't mean you won't get dust - keep in mind that most dust is just human skin that's sloughed off.

While the case is open reseat all connectors and cards. Sometimes this will cure wonky connections. I wonder if the HD Native card is slot dependent?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 3 Core PCIe and 2 Accel Pcie cards JonGon Buy & Sell 0 04-05-2015 09:02 PM
MAGMA ExpressBox 4 (2U) EB4 4 Slot PCIe to PCIe EXPANSION CHASSIS PRO TOOLS HDX treason Buy & Sell 5 05-21-2014 03:52 PM
DeckLink HD Extreme II PCIe OR Intensity Pro PCIe? MixerGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 10-25-2012 10:15 AM
Magma PE6R4 PCIe x4 plugging into Intel Mac PCIe x16 slot? soloan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2010 12:42 PM
can feat pcie hd accel to pcie x16 of motherboard? raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 06-29-2007 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com