Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2015, 09:29 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,277
Default Time adjust on MIDI

If there's a way to do this, I'm not finding it in the manual. Is there a way to do a time adjust in a MIDI clip like you can an audio clip? I had a MIDI clip and I wanted to experiment with having it run at double time and also 1/2 time to the session tempo. Its easy enough to do with elastic audio, but I can't find a MIDI track equivalent to do the same thing. I know I could commit to audio and then use the EA, but I was hoping there was a way to do it with MIDI as well. I can't just change the session tempo as that will mess up other MIDI tracks and such. Thanks.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2015, 12:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,504
Default Re: Time adjust on MIDI

Change the session tempo(BPM) to double and half of the current setting. Midi tracks will change to match. Audio that's in Samples mode will be unchanged. Audio that's in TICKS mode might change(WILL if EA is enabled, can't remember if EA is not enabled)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2015, 03:59 PM
Glenjb Glenjb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 656
Default Re: Time adjust on MIDI

What Dave said and also if you have other midi or instrument tracks you DONT want to change in tempo etc..., change them from ticks to samples
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2015, 10:13 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,277
Default Re: Time adjust on MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Change the session tempo(BPM) to double and half of the current setting. Midi tracks will change to match. Audio that's in Samples mode will be unchanged. Audio that's in TICKS mode might change(WILL if EA is enabled, can't remember if EA is not enabled)
Dave - Yeah, I know that part. I was hoping there was a way to time change a MIDI clip like you can an audio clip using EA. Apparently not. It might be a nice future option with MIDI to do that. Like with Boom, you can set the loop to play at tempo or 2x or 1/2 as I recall. That same feature resides in some other VIs as well, like Transfuser. Be nice to be able to, say, right click on a MIDI clip, select something like "change tempo" and have options like 'session tempo', '1/2 session tempo', '2X session tempo', etc. Make it a bit easier to experiment with arps and loops with various sounds. That's what I had in mind when I first posted on this.

The issue with changing the entire session tempo for one MIDI clip is what's already been stated...making sure it doesn't affect any other MIDI, Instrument or audio tracks. And it is cumbersome when you just want to experiment. Anyhow...just a thought and vote to make this a MIDI feature in some future upgrade.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2015, 07:12 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Time adjust on MIDI

Hey Donald, switch the track view to region and create a region group if separation exists, then use the TCE tool to compact or expand the region boundaries.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2015, 10:41 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,277
Default Re: Time adjust on MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Hey Donald, switch the track view to region and create a region group if separation exists, then use the TCE tool to compact or expand the region boundaries.
Thanks, Aaron. I haven't thought of this approach. I'll try that and see if it does what I'm looking to do.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Space plug in,how to adjust T60 time? Rockman413 Pro Tools 12 0 09-29-2015 03:21 AM
Adjust Session Start Time Issues anders Post - Surround - Video 7 01-11-2013 02:08 PM
Every time I adjust volume it zeros to the bottom phatbeatstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-12-2012 09:53 AM
How to adjust tempo in real-time? ddecker1979 Tips & Tricks 1 09-15-2010 06:28 AM
Crossfades-"Adjust Bounds" every time??? cloughri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-10-2007 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com