Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2012, 09:13 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default 2008 Mac Pro has more power than an HDX2 ?

My Mac Pro his an 8-core 3Ghz machine. Its just old enough that I can not migrate to Mountain Lion.

However, I can run 90 tracks with ten instantiations each of the Avid Channel Strip Plugin, and it taxes the CPU at about 40%.

This exact same session maxes out an HDX2.

By extrapolating the numbers, I should be able to expect the Mac Pro to run the same power as an HDX3 with about a 60% load to the CPU.

So Why should I buy an HDX core, if a Mac Pro from 2008 has more power running Native? Whats the benefit?
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:51 AM
ilulilu888 ilulilu888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dreamland
Posts: 304
Default Re: 2008 Mac Pro has more power than an HDX2 ?

i have an 2010 8 core Mac pro and HDX 1 .....i can run much more then 90 tracks and a hell lot of plugins ......with out maxing out my system ....you must be doing something wrong on an HDX....no way it maxes out that easily....
__________________
Pro Tools 12HD
HDX 1
Avid HD 8x8x8
Avid Omni HD
MacPro 2.4 Xeon 8 core 24Giga
UAD-2 And most of the UAD plugins
All AAX DSP and Native Plugins (all most)
Tons of Hardware...:)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2012, 03:14 AM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default

Try instantiating 10 instances of Revibe native, that will bring your computer to its knees, yet only take up 5 chips on HDX. Also, at the same time try tracking through several instances of native plugins, and you'll hear some latency. I think the combination of HDX with loads of native plugins is the way to go ultimately.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2012, 03:56 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: 2008 Mac Pro has more power than an HDX2 ?

Interestingly, my immediate reaction was "yeah, tell it like it is Chris" so I tried just that on my 8x3.2GHz early 2008 Mac Pro. 10 Revibe II native no problem, 15... no problem, 20... no problem, 25... no problem but I could feel the strain maybe, 30... no go. Not saying HDX isn't worth it for various reasons, I'm considering it, but it does go to show the amazing amount of power available with native (even on a 4 year old Mac!).

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2012, 05:13 AM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinBaldMonkey View Post

So Why should I buy an HDX core, if a Mac Pro from 2008 has more power running Native? Whats the benefit?
2 primary reasons -
1. Whatever power you get native - add the HDX power to it. Native + DSP is greater than native alone. 1+1 =2 rather than 1+0 =1. Not just increased plug count power, but higher track count also

2. Ability to track thru and with plugins at a usable latency. I know this has been argued, but no matter which way you slice it DSP is lower latency ESP when the machine gets loaded.
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
2013 MacPro 6 x 3.5 32GB OS10.14.4 HDX2 Sonnet Chassis, PT2019.5. Macbook 2018 Watch this to follow mobile mix studio build coming: https://youtu.be/cbqMTjCVj9I
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2012, 05:15 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,817
Default Re: 2008 Mac Pro has more power than an HDX2 ?

I think what gets forgotten in these arguments is that an HDX/TDM system COMBINED with native will ALWAYS be more powerful than native alone... It's not like you loose the power of native on a DSP based system.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long hangs/crashes 11.02 HDX2 fsavell Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-18-2013 04:27 PM
Anybody successfully running a HDX2 on a Mac Pro 8-core Early 2008 Harpertown? Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 11-23-2012 12:58 AM
HDX1+96 IO to HD3 and HDX2+96 IO to backup betojapa VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 05-10-2012 05:34 AM
harddisks and HDX2 mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 1 04-23-2012 09:46 AM
Can I run HDX2 with two video cards in my Mac Pro? conrad787 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2012 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com