Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2001, 06:51 AM
Tone Tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 518
Default 96kHz FireWire Interface

I just wish it said 'Digidesign' on the front

web page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2001, 08:37 AM
Tone Tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 518
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

I would love for Digi to get beyond using PCI breakout boxes for their audio and instead use Firewire. This way you can get rid of -6042 errors and run a tonne of ins and outs from 1 port and buy whatever DSP cards you nned independantly. It's also time Digi did 96k - everyone else is. Some people do actually want it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2001, 11:23 AM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by relaxo:
Why?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So you could run ProTools on it...why else.
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2001, 09:09 PM
Peter Steinbach Peter Steinbach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 332
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

Has anyone considered the fact that post-production (a pretty significant chunck of digi's market) really does'nt care about 96K? Digi's new business model is in hardware, a la control surfaces. Sort of like Fairlight's DREAM system. Please lay off the tedious 96k stuff. Aside from some wanky music engineers, (myself included) nobody cares about 96k. Sad but true. Deal with it.
-p
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2001, 09:20 PM
BothMan BothMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 252
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

Digidesign is in the business of making a reliable, professional daw that works. I think they do it well. If you are looking for a daw that adopts any new buzz word and does it at the cost of stabililty, on a system that may have not been stable to begin with. Perhaps you should look into another product. For me, I'm pretty happy where I am at. I'm not saying that Pro Tools cannot be improved. I'm just saying that I trust it will happen when it can be done right.

Paul
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2001, 10:07 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by BothMan:
Digidesign is in the business of making a reliable, professional daw that works. I think they do it well. If you are looking for a daw that adopts any new buzz word and does it at the cost of stabililty, on a system that may have not been stable to begin with. Perhaps you should look into another product. For me, I'm pretty happy where I am at. I'm not saying that Pro Tools cannot be improved. I'm just saying that I trust it will happen when it can be done right.

Paul
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Couldn't agree more. I get tickled when I hear people raving about other systems, especially the sequencer/audio programs with the worst user interfaces in the world, and busy signals for tech support.

Digi is the standard for a reason. It isn't the cheapest. But it will be around long after the new buzzword guys have run out of cash. It's the best interface on the planet and you pay for the best...in anything. JMHO
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2001, 10:21 PM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Noiz2:


So you could run ProTools on it...why else.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't even want to run ProTools software. I use Logic Audio for composition. I bought ProTools for the TDM hardware. Period. Everything else out there is nickel-dime candy junk. I don't want a "CueMix" knob, I want a real time system that lets my native CPU breathe freely when running softsamplers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2001, 10:56 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by relaxo:


I don't even want to run ProTools software. I use Logic Audio for composition. I bought ProTools for the TDM hardware. Period. Everything else out there is nickel-dime candy junk. I don't want a "CueMix" knob, I want a real time system that lets my native CPU breathe freely when running softsamplers.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
You asked why? you didn't ask why you would want a digi compatable firewire interface.
Personaly I think 96K is a royal wank but what it might get you are better 44.1/48 converters, and firewire would free a slot ant that would be useful. I would also like to have a TDIF interface.
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2001, 01:35 AM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: 96kHz FireWire Interface

Peter Steinbach-

I must say, I don't agree.

I have owned and used Digi products in post since before it was called "ProTools." At that time no "wanky music engineers" could even dream of owning their own recording system.
The cost of analog was just too high.
At that point Digi was a little known company on the cutting edge of a brand new world. Not anymore.
Digi is in dire need of a complete overhaul.

I will agree that the software is the best by far. If i didn't love it and use it everyday I wouldn't care what they did. I would just move on to something else, but the attitude of the company has gone steadily down hill. The cost of often minor upgrades and the cost of very outdated hardware is ridiculous.
The new MOTU box list is $1,295.00.
Digi has nothing even close. Not for 10x that price !

The writing is on the wall. Look at what "Final Cut Pro" has done to Avid's market share. That, all by itself could be the end of Digi as We know it.
The days of paying crazy prices for marginal hardware, in order to run "the" software or to be in the "Big Boys" club are over.
The market has changed and there is no going back.
For every "Pro" who can afford it there are 1,000 musicians and DJ's and bedroom engineers who can't or won't shell out that kind of cash. And the latest buzz words are exactly what is important to this market.
Digi needs a new system with vastly improved hardware at a competitive price. And "Le" is not the answer. Take a look in the "Le" forum. There are not very many satisfied customers there.
The crippled software and cheap, closed-end hardware will only keep 'em happy for so long.
In fact, the best thing Digi could do would be to open up PT and let it run on any hardware or get out of the hardware business altogether and just concentrate on the software. That's what they do best.
Better yet, I'd really like to see Apple come out with the audio equivalent of "Final Cut Pro." That would light a fire under Digi.
Or sink them. Either way We would end up better off but I don't really see Apple doing that.

As it sits now, I've got a rack full of Digi boat anchors, with Christmas lights.

kasper
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9 Rjones17 macOS 5 12-14-2012 08:06 PM
1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 11-22-2010 04:08 PM
Firewire vs USB interface Jeff E Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 08-12-2008 06:16 AM
96KHz support with M-Audio Firewire interfaces kav Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 05-27-2005 12:44 PM
firewire interface kav 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-01-2004 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com