Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:59 AM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 81
Default Hardware buffer size in relation to DAE buffer

I'm a bit stumped right now. I have the following:
G5 dual 2 gig
2 gigs Ram
75 gig Raptor
PT 7.1 LE

I have 24 audio tracks,external Reverb, only a few EQ plugs. I record 1 track at a time. Right now I'm recording Bass. PT keeps giving me the buffer underrun dialog and increase my buffer size. If I go to 1024 then I get latency. Does the DAE buffer size do anything? When would you increase or decrease it?

What gives?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:31 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Hardware buffer size in relation to DAE buffer

What interface are you using, if it's not an Mbox have you got low latency montiroing selected. Also, whats your processor prefs set to, the amount of G5 processors?

Regards

PS: If you are using an Mbox then just mute the track you are recording, that way you will only hear whats going in instead of mixture of the in and out.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2006, 10:30 AM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 81
Default Re: Hardware buffer size in relation to DAE buffer

I'm using a Digi 002. I'm not using low latency monitoring. But I'll try it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware buffer size bobmcp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-23-2008 06:29 PM
Hardware buffer size Lasse78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-21-2006 05:58 PM
Hardware buffer in relation to dealy in samples? Espionage1979 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-24-2006 09:46 AM
Hardware Buffer Size mcm15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 01-11-2006 07:17 AM
Hardware buffer size Ryan H. General Discussion 1 12-11-2001 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com