Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #441  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:00 PM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default Re: New Licensing

Gearslutz actually just moved the Avid Strike thread.
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/moan...id-strike.html
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...

Last edited by ghostwriter; 10-17-2014 at 01:24 PM.
  #442  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:01 PM
mlange's Avatar
mlange mlange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 402
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Ah, fair enough. And a shocker about Gearslutz.

Anyone any other suggestions?
Ouch.

This is a bad launch, at best.
__________________
________________________
www.PlethoraTone.com
PlethoraTone Studio Video Tour
At PlethoraTone:
Intel Core i7-4960X, Asus P9X79 LE, W7 Pro 64-bit, 16GB DDR3,
Avid HD Native, Pro Tools HD v10, 4/192 I/O, 2/UAD-2 QUAD,
Tascam US-2400, Exponential Audio, PSP, Kush, Slate Digital,
Waves Mercury, PA, Melodyne, Antares, Audioease, SoundToys
  #443  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:06 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Try looking around Nigel, we'd been discussing that for months in the Post Forum. It got brought up several times when Avid went that route with MC. Brought up in the Q&A session of one of the recent Avid Webinars, brought up at PTE, and I've no doubt brought up on Gearslutz.
Carl,

I wasn't suggesting that I came up with a new revelation. I only pointed out that I was the first to mention it in THIS thread. I am also a Media Composer owner, so I was already aware of its new model. That's what led me to suggest things might turn out similar over here in Pro Tools land.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.14.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite OctopreLE and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad Silver with Thunderbolt card, Apollo x4 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2020.3, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
  #444  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:21 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Since when is a Pro Tools vanilla license $899?
Avid said it will be that price going forward since it will include the support plan.
  #445  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:43 PM
paflechat paflechat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Licensing

We could create a website (and a forum) to help each other to switch from Pro Tools to other softwares : it should be the best way to find easily and fast new habits.
Rather than wasting our time with the poor guys at Avid, let's learn quickly to use Nuendo or something else !!
  #446  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:47 PM
clive.gardner clive.gardner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: GB
Posts: 59
Default Re: New Licensing

Well that's me out. You won't be seeing any more of my money.

Avid. You chaps should be ashamed of yourselves.
  #447  
Old 10-16-2014, 03:55 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Avid said it will be that price going forward since it will include the support plan.
Without a support plan, it's $699. If you know where to look, it's $450
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
  #448  
Old 10-16-2014, 04:08 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Without a support plan, it's $699. If you know where to look, it's $450
I was of the impression that it would only be offered with the support plan at $899 starting in November.

But regardless, the point of my thread was that us HD users have no idea what our cost will be if we don't do the support plan, whereas other people do.
  #449  
Old 10-16-2014, 04:08 PM
clive.gardner clive.gardner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: GB
Posts: 59
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Without a support plan, it's $699. If you know where to look, it's $450
Yes but only while stocks last. The $699 no-support version is being removed from sale.

Also interestingly enough, according to an article which mysteriously appeared then was quickly pulled from a notable Pro Tools website a couple of days ago, it is alleged, with quotes from a number of resellers, that Avid have been putting pressure on them to enforce a minimum sale price - so don't expect any discount deals in future.
  #450  
Old 10-16-2014, 04:10 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Without a support plan, it's $699. If you know where to look, it's $450

As of now. I'm pretty sure Tony has mentioned elsewhere that they're phasing out the $699 version. So even if you know "where to look" it will probably be $599 in the future.

And speaking of the future mine will not include any newer version if PT. I can bounce down and "track freeze" now. It's not elegant but it works. Not paying $199 yearly for that and maybe the "privilege" of buying add-ons that should be included for the base price.

So hurry up harrison. Get mixbus 3 ready. And the controller you've mentioned. I've got a couple of PT licenses I can sell when you. :)

And in the meantime I will probably spend that $199 in logic. Just saying.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
m-powered licensing pixeltarian Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-22-2011 08:44 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Licensing Plugins help? nemisis63 General Discussion 1 10-25-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com