Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2017, 12:57 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 80
Default Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Can you move the plug-ins around in the plug-ins selection window? like all my antares vocal plug-ins aside from auto tune evo are in the "others" drop down when going to insert a plug-in. Can I create new spaces for them? or move them to existing one i.e dynamics, eq, modulation? Thanks
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2017, 01:09 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Organize your plugin list by manufacturer
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Core i7, 16GB RAM, Windows10 Home x64,
NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12 (active upd plan),
Alesis M1 active 520, Sennheiser eh350

andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2017, 03:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 31,896
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Organize your plugin list by manufacturer
actually, I would organize by both category AND manufacturer. and then use the "favorite plugin" trick for those that get the most use(find a favorite plugin and Ctrl-click it and it will appear at the top of the first Plugin window). The next thing you might consider is to make Track Presets. While its not an "official" feature, it works dandy(watch youtube to see how its done). Between custom session templates and custom track presets, a lot of assignment can be done ahead of time(and if certain plugins have latency so you can't record WITH them, make them inactive in your templates/presets)
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79, Intel i7 3930K, 64 gig G-Skill DDR3, GeForce 610, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2017, 04:13 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,665
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvly5t View Post
Can you move the plug-ins around in the plug-ins selection window? like all my antares vocal plug-ins aside from auto tune evo are in the "others" drop down when going to insert a plug-in. Can I create new spaces for them? or move them to existing one i.e dynamics, eq, modulation? Thanks
To actually answer your questions, it's simply: No, to all.
But personally I find "Sort by manufacturer" in preferences, helps a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2017, 12:54 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 80
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Thank you Ben
That's so idiotic that is not a function of the DAW because some of my eq's and comps are down in the other window not sorted with the rest of my EQ's and comps... oh well but I will try the sort by manufacturer
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2017, 01:52 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 10,303
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

I do both, type and manufacturer.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2017, 02:02 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 80
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Yeah I mean it was setup as category and category and manufacturer is I guess a little better but I still would like it to ACTUALLY sort by category instead of putting like all my Antares plugins (except auto tune) in to the other category...
There is no way to change the category of a plugin?
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2017, 02:11 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 10,303
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvly5t View Post
Yeah I mean it was setup as category and category and manufacturer is I guess a little better but I still would like it to ACTUALLY sort by category instead of putting like all my Antares plugins (except auto tune) in to the other category...
There is no way to change the category of a plugin?
No, that's up to the manufacturer.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2017, 02:12 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 80
Default Re: Organizing Plug-ins Selection

So dumb.... also help me with my midi setup thread I just posted pls :]]]
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Organizing UAD plug-ins kidbazooka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-17-2008 09:51 AM
Organizing AudioSuite plug-ins? curve666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-09-2005 09:40 PM
Organizing Plug ins? Woz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-12-2004 07:15 PM
Organizing Plug-ins Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 02-15-2003 11:12 AM
Organizing Plug-ins Nashville Bass Tips & Tricks 13 09-07-2002 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com