Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2002, 04:26 PM
Renie Renie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 394
Default Saving a Copy of the Session Q

p54 in the 5.1 manual talks about the "Force Audio files to Native Session Type"
it doesn't come up in the dialog box. what's the story?
How can I get to use this feature to avoid the mixed file types reduced performance scenario?

Thanks

Renie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2002, 05:41 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Saving a Copy of the Session Q

Although I'm assuming it is a typo, the "Force Audio Files to Native Session Type" heading is synonomous with the "All Non (insert native audio file format for the session here) Audio Files" in the File>Save Session Copy In window.

This option is automatically enabled when doing the following:
1-Enabling "Enforce Mac/PC compatibility"
2-Changing bit depth
3-Changing sample rate

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2002, 01:51 PM
Renie Renie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 394
Default Re: Saving a Copy of the Session Q

Brent

Thanks for the feedback.

So if the session has the correct bit depth and sample rate the only way to convert mixed audio file types is to Enforce Mac/PC Compatibility. That means that the file type is changed from SDII (to WAV or AIFF). In my case this seems an odd way to go about things as most of my files are SDII and I don't need the session to be PC compatible.

Can you confirm that I have understood this and perhaps offer some advice on this issue? Like am I really better off making sure file types imported into PT are SDII to start with?

Cheers

Renie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Files Moved or Removed from Session after Saving Session Copy for Protools 9 doubtful guest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-06-2013 03:42 AM
Saving session copy and Altiverb IRs bad jitter Post - Surround - Video 3 08-27-2009 06:18 AM
Saving a copy of a PT 8 session as PT 7? sodium glow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-22-2009 07:05 PM
-37 error when saving session copy SirLexelot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-25-2006 01:52 PM
Saving Session Copy files. new engineer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-25-2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com