Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2012, 01:48 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Hi,

I've got a Dell Inspiron i7 laptop, with 4gig RAM but a puny 5400rpm 2.5" drive inside. So as a record drive I plan to put my old 3.5" 500gb 7200rpm SATA drive in a USB 3.0 case and plug that into the laptop via a usb 3.0 port. My question is, will that be fast enough for PT9? Or will the fact that I've got a 5400rpm drive as the OS drive (that pro tools is installed on) in the laptop mean it will slow it all down to that speed? Surely if it's reading and writing to the external 7200rpm USB 3.0 drive that will be ok no?

I may also swap the 5400rpm internal drive for a 256gb SSD drive of some sort, if that would solve that issue.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2012, 02:07 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgerob View Post
Hi,

I've got a Dell Inspiron i7 laptop, with 4gig RAM but a puny 5400rpm 2.5" drive inside. So as a record drive I plan to put my old 3.5" 500gb 7200rpm SATA drive in a USB 3.0 case and plug that into the laptop via a usb 3.0 port. My question is, will that be fast enough for PT9? Or will the fact that I've got a 5400rpm drive as the OS drive (that pro tools is installed on) in the laptop mean it will slow it all down to that speed? Surely if it's reading and writing to the external 7200rpm USB 3.0 drive that will be ok no?
It will likely work, but if you have any sample based VIs that you want to run then you might start running into issues (those sampels should be on the 5400 rpm drive). That and a 5400 rpm drive is just overall slow, boots slowly etc. But its there so you should just try it and see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgerob View Post
I may also swap the 5400rpm internal drive for a 256gb SSD drive of some sort, if that would solve that issue.

Thanks
I'd definitely look at SSD drives nowadays for boot/system drives, VI/sample drives (can get expensive if the libraries are huge) and recording drives. But the best initial use of SSD is likely for a system drive. SSDs are often so fast you can get away with recording to a system or sample drive that you really should not otherwise do (not that I'm recommending that - but if you test it and are careful it can work). I'm using Samsung 830 512 GB SSD drives in several Macs at the moment, all very impressive. I am not sure what exact model laptop you have (see the Sandra request below) but you may have an option of removing an internal optical drive and replacing it with a SSD drive.

BTW the really best help you can get to configuration questions like this is if you provide a Sandra report (see the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link above on how to do this). People here will often spot issues/make useful suggestions based on that detailed Sandra config info.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2012, 03:32 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Excellent, thanks for the info. Think I'll go the SSD for OS drive route.

Got my eye on these 4 drives, do you know if they are any good?

£113 Kingston: http://check.co.uk/kingston-ssdnow-v...-internal.html

£112 OCZ: http://www.transparent-uk.com/ocz-agility-3-240gb.html

£122 256 Samsung: http://www.transparent-uk.com/samsun...-iii-bulk.html

£99 OCZ 256: http://www.transparent-uk.com/ocz-25...taiii-2-5.html

Apologies for the sandra report. I'm at work so not on the computer in question.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2012, 03:50 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgerob View Post
Excellent, thanks for the info. Think I'll go the SSD for OS drive route.

Got my eye on these 4 drives, do you know if they are any good?

£113 Kingston: http://check.co.uk/kingston-ssdnow-v...-internal.html

£112 OCZ: http://www.transparent-uk.com/ocz-agility-3-240gb.html

£122 256 Samsung: http://www.transparent-uk.com/samsun...-iii-bulk.html

£99 OCZ 256: http://www.transparent-uk.com/ocz-25...taiii-2-5.html

Apologies for the sandra report. I'm at work so not on the computer in question.
my personal bias is for the Samsung--but be aware these are so thin they won't fit a usual 2.5" slide type mount tray. There is a laptop kit version of these drives that comes with a thickness adapter/shim (the only way to buy thus adapter is get this whole kit), a USB2 adapter (to use while cloning) and a copy of Norton Ghost to help clone your current disk. This one..http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-2-5i...1075946&sr=8-2. The "bulk" parts are just the bare drive. (Not all laptops need the mounting kit/shim it depends on how they mount 2.5" drives, but still this is the package to get to be safe.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2012, 04:23 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Hi Darryl,

OK good advice, thanks. So the samsung is even thinner than the normal 2.5" drives? And thinner than all the other SSD drives?

Without opening up my laptop, what could I search for on google to find out how the 2.5" drive inside is mounted? Is there a particular technical term for the type of bay?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2012, 10:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgerob View Post
Hi Darryl,

OK good advice, thanks. So the samsung is even thinner than the normal 2.5" drives? And thinner than all the other SSD drives?

Without opening up my laptop, what could I search for on google to find out how the 2.5" drive inside is mounted? Is there a particular technical term for the type of bay?

thanks
Yes the Samsung is thinner than standard 2.5" drives to allow it to be used in the latest crop of thin notebooks.

If the drive inside your laptop mounts using screws into the side of the drive you likely do not need the spacer, if it slides into a carrier that locates on the side rails you likely will need the spacer. If I needed to know for sure I would just open up the laptop.

I don't know about the other drives. The easy option (what I would do) is don't waste time and just buy the kit I pointed at, look around for best price I just found it on Amazon UK for you since I brought my Samsung 830 drives at Amazon USA. You will likely need the USB to SATA adapter in the kit anyhow to clone your drive.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2012, 01:11 PM
Transputer Transputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 124
Default Re: Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Another SSD suggestion - Intel 330 series
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2012, 03:01 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Is this Hard Drive setup ok for PT?

Thanks for the help Darryl. I will probably buy that kit then. It won't be for a month or 2 anyway so hopefully by xmas the prices might be a bit lower anyway!

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive setup abre Storage Subsystems 2 05-15-2013 06:21 AM
How does everyone setup Hard drive? a2c macOS 40 03-09-2012 03:16 AM
Hard Drive Setup rfrance Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 14 06-03-2010 08:33 AM
Which Hard Drive setup is better? jimbojimbo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 01-07-2007 06:24 AM
Hard Drive Setup where02190 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-15-2002 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com