Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2007, 10:34 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Is there any truth that...

HD systems do not run well on Dual 1.8 G5's ?
I'm looking for a cheap Dual 1.8 or 2.0 G5, and
I've heard rumors that the Dual 1.8's have issues?
Can anyone confirm?

Currently running
HD1 10.4.7 Dual 1ghz G4
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2007, 02:16 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,484
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

Quote:
HD systems do not run well on Dual 1.8 G5's ?
I'm looking for a cheap Dual 1.8 or 2.0 G5, and
I've heard rumors that the Dual 1.8's have issues?
Can anyone confirm?

Currently running
HD1 10.4.7 Dual 1ghz G4
Hi,

I don't really know about the 1.8 but i've been using the 2.0 gig dual and its been solid!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:39 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

I have heard many a good thing about the Dual 2.0,and perhaps that's the way to go.
Any Dual 1.8 users out there???
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:01 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

we have 2 dual 1.8GHz G5's with HD Accel systems in them.

No problems with the that we don't also get with our other systems, you know, general Pro Tools flakyness and multiple crashes due to Database Corruption and all-round incompetence of the developers.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:12 AM
narcoman narcoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oxfordshire UK
Posts: 163
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

three hd3 accel rigs, one on a 1.8. No issues at all.... rarely crashes....
__________________
narcoman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:36 AM
lasselarsen lasselarsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

No problems with dual 1.8. Running
HD 3 accel in my rig.

Lasse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:00 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

"general Pro Tools flakiness and multiple crashes due to Database Corruption and all-round incompetence of the developers. "
(Quote)
Assistant
Soundelux London
////

Operators of systems need to maintain systems! Did you ever clean heads and align tape machines in the past? Calibrate your signal path for every outboard session? Regularly clean the database of your recorder?

It's all a part of engineering. As an assistant I would think you'd desire to learn this. Maybe you need to assist someone else who's more on top of it.

Sorry for the slam in your post but the above just reeks of a work ethic going down a lazy path.

---
Back to your post. The compatibility papers have specific computers (Dates, models...) listed that may have had some issues. as an example, some g5 dual 2.7 have known issues (but not all)
I have a couple that are working fine with HD systems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:26 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

TCDet,

Please advise me on how I would go about ensuring that none of our systems ever have a crash when they are used by multiple people and indeed owned by multiple people?

I could do with your wisdom.

I cannot and will not be touching any private kit so if you could stick with the kit I can control. Do you advise database deletion daily?

Maybe somes ort of cron script editing to ensure it is run nightly?

Trying to be genuine, honestly but everything is sounding a little sarcastic. Sorry about that.

If you have some advice then I would genuinely like to learn, to avoid the slip into lazy working practices.

Thank you,

Ceri

PS/ If you wanted to email me rather than hijack the forum thread that would be fine to and we can post whatever findings we make to the TDM Tips and Techniques forum afterwards.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:11 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

My Dual 1.8 runs great.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:11 AM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Is there any truth that...

C people get a little defensive when someone uses terms like "incompetence of developers" I figure that Pro Tools is pretty complicated and that any code like this can be affected by the user's system, bad hardware and many many other (in some cases fixable) issues. For us we have over 7 PT HD systems running 24/7 and they run very well indeed with minimal interference. Sure there is the odd weirdness (Hey, even my car fails to start occasionally) but overall I can't fault Digidesign's efforts, in fact my business relies on it working. So I suggest in the name of fairness that you tone down your comments just a tad and marvel at how well it works.
my 2c
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Truth of it All? Diccer Pro Tools 10 24 11-16-2011 05:26 PM
The Truth! microstudio Pro Tools 10 2 10-23-2011 01:55 PM
Please HELP! Tell me the truth funeral 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-20-2007 05:55 PM
all we want is the truth! electrobank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 07-19-2000 03:04 PM
The Truth YAR-X 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-29-1999 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com