Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2018, 11:25 PM
Just Phab Just Phab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 10
Default Synology 4bay NAS RackStation RS816

Hi All,

Has anyone had any success, running PT Sessions on Synology 4bay NAS RackStation RS816. It has 4 bays so I wanted to configure a RAID one pair create and store and record Sessions. The other pair is for backup. Has anyone tried this. I wanted my Drives Rack Mounted and needed make sure I have some rundancy. Thoughts welcomed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2018, 11:13 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 521
Default Re: Synology 4bay NAS RackStation RS816

I thought about the same thing a few years ago and bought a synology NAS. Not fast enough to transfer the data even on a Gigabit network.
Now I use it as the "brain" for the house.
Still rocks as file backup solution though.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2018, 01:36 PM
Just Phab Just Phab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 10
Default Re: Synology 4bay NAS RackStation RS816

Thanks 29 Appreciate it. Total agree on the storage side. Which Synology NAS model did you opt for in the end and what RPM were your drives if you are open to share.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2018, 02:29 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 521
Default Re: Synology 4bay NAS RackStation RS816

I have the DS112 I think it is.
It has one bay and I have a 2TB 7200RPM drive in there.
I also hung a usb hub off of it and added 6 (I think) 8TB drives for other storage.
That is backed up once a month to other 7200 rpm drives and also pushed up to my VPS at least once a month or two.
Lost about 10 years of my wife’s digital photos so now I’m insane about backing up.
Did I mention I also burn Blu-ray’s twice a year of all the data??
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Synology NAS as only audio and video drives deardaddy Post - Surround - Video 26 06-05-2012 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com