Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2013, 08:51 AM
Bill Simmons Bill Simmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 11
Default Playback engine issue

Hi all. I have just setup Elevenrack with PT11 and also have a Saffire 2i2. Everything works fine with the Elevenrack but if I try a new session with the 2i2 the playback engine defaults to the elevenrack settings. I get input from the 2i2 but no play back and get a "Pro tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure the device is configured correctly". I've downloaded the newesr drivers already. I feel I'm missing something simple but am at a loss. Using this on a PC with Win7 64bit. I'm used to PT9, Macbook pro and Saffire Pro 40s. This new setup is for my "home studio"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2013, 09:36 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Playback engine issue

Is there extra software (mix) for the 2i2?

What sample rate are u trying to attain ?

I usually have to set my Saffire's sample rate up prior to starting PT
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2013, 10:49 AM
Bill Simmons Bill Simmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 11
Default Re: Playback engine issue

After some searching around the site I see i'm not the only one having issues with the 2i2.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=318433
There isn't a "mixer" software I could see like the Pro40s have. My fault I didn't check the sample rate. Might be the problem. I will check out this things when I get through working my real job.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2013, 11:31 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Playback engine issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Simmons View Post
I will check out this things when I get through working my real job.
Same here
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2013, 03:20 PM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Playback engine issue

Hello Bill Simmons,

Are you running the Focusrite USB 2 Driver Version 2.4 currently on our main website?

I suspect you may be encountering an issue we have corrected in our current beta driver where some users could not initiate ASIO in their DAW on Windows.

Can you download and install this Focusrite USB 2 Driver Version 2.5b2 from our beta website here.

Please let me know if this does or does not correct this issue for you.

If you need further assistance we are always happy to help. You can contact us directly via our Customer Support Page.

Best regards.
__________________
Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2013, 05:05 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: Playback engine issue

/\/\ Great to see a company offering good customer support! /\/\
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2013, 07:20 AM
Bill Simmons Bill Simmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 11
Default Re: Playback engine issue

Thumbs up to Katherine at Focusrite. That seems to have solved the issues I was having. Thanks for the great costumer support without even having to go to Focusrites website!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback Engine>Current Engine issue Hunterkiss macOS 0 06-28-2013 02:14 PM
Blackmagic Extreme & playback engine issue goatfish macOS 7 01-14-2013 08:19 PM
No m-audio interface in current engine (playback engine) SlicerSounds Windows 1 10-04-2012 01:27 AM
AVID video engine playback issue Audio_Vision Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-08-2011 02:09 PM
digi001 to digi002R upgrade playback engine issue mytinycircus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-12-2005 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com