Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2015, 03:05 PM
zerothrills zerothrills is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1
Default 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

Just purchased ProTools 12 and on my laptop any videos will playback fine. But when I try the same project or a new video imported in on my desktop I get that error message when it tries to play:

'The Video Engine reported and error. More information is in the Video Engine log file.'

Not sure where that log file is saved but perhaps AVID support could have a look at it.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png protools-video-error.png (24.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2015, 01:19 AM
HDXSound HDXSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 62
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

+1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2015, 07:57 AM
darbyclash34 darbyclash34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 225
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

Just something to try, as I'm having a different but somewhat similar issue. Try opening Pro Tools and creating a new blank session, let it finish creating the session, then press play and let it run for a few seconds. Also, go into your playback engine and make sure you've got the video engine enabled. Everything cool so far? If so, try opening the session that's giving you trouble and see if it works correctly. If it does, please report back, as I'm having to create a new session every time my interface has been power cycled, or I get either a video or an audio engine error. I've done every bit of troubleshooting both Antelope Audio and Avid can give me, and at this point it appears to be a bug in Pro Tools, but seemingly pretty rare.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:55 PM
bifbangpow bifbangpow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 96
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

It's a pretty huge bug for the industry standard software... I mean, if nothing can be done, then all of us composers have to switch to a different DAW. Come on Pro tools; fix this.
__________________
my specs:
Zbook G2
Intel processor core i7 vPro
Windows 7
ProTools 11.3.1
Scarlett Focusrite
+ Saving to External Harddrive

-Strawberry Jam Composer/Sound Design by day
-psychedelic-punk by night.
http://WeAreTheMayCompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2017, 06:40 PM
Aser Aser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

+1 on the error, also seen others while surfing the internet to solve this problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2017, 01:05 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,728
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

The video error issue is much worse in 12.8.1 than in 12.8.0. That's been the case for each of our studios that have upgraded to 12.8.1. Sessions with video have become practically unproductive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2019, 01:26 AM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

Had a similar issue after power cycling my aja t-tap. Problem was that PT took the Aja as playback device instead of audio interface.
__________________
MacOs 10.13.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2018.12
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2019, 10:33 AM
paulmitch paulmitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 101
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

Has anyone come up with anything for video playback? I've had a beast of a time trying to play back for SFX.
__________________
Home:
27" iMac, (Retina 5k, 2017)
4.2GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB RAM
OSX 10.3.3
UAD Apollo 8 Duo
UAD Apollo 16 silverface
UAD Satellite Octo, Thunderbolt
PT 2018.10
Work:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
2x3.06GHz 6-Core Xeon, 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
OSX 10.13.6
Avid HDX HD Madi x 3
SSL C100
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:47 PM
musicelect musicelect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Washington State
Posts: 40
Default Re: 'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video

I had issues with the video engine as well. I saw both the slow loading bar and some hard spinning beach balls where ProTools would freeze while trying to load the video engine.

Looking around here on the DUC, some people mentioned interference with other video drivers. I had some AJA stuff installed that I didn't need anymore. AJA has an uninstaller app that completely removed everything and after a restart, the ProTools video engine works perfectly.

Hopefully this helps you.
__________________
www.markproaudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine Error aptmusic9 Pro Tools 11 7 03-10-2017 01:55 PM
Pro Tools 12 Video Engine Reported an Error Justin Viscuna Pro Tools 12 0 08-19-2015 02:13 AM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 12:35 AM
Video Engine Error (and log?) Farmer Dave Pro Tools 11 2 12-07-2013 09:15 PM
"video engine failed to initialize" message fuzzles Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-29-2006 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com