Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 11-17-2013, 08:12 AM

Default Pro Tools 11 Beginner

Help! I am brand new to Pro Tools and, man, am I stuck. Trying to merely record my first track. Everything APPEARS to be set up as it should be. BUT, when I enable the track for record, click record and then play on the transport NOTHING happens. I am totally frustrated. Anybody out there have any advice? Seems that this initial step should be so simple and easy and I am totally bangin' my head against the proverbial wall. Thanks in advance to anyone with any words of advice or encouragement!
Old 11-17-2013, 08:35 AM

Default Re: Can't get Pro Tools 11 to record a track!

I am using a much older version of Pro Tools, so am not familiar with PT 11, but basics are basics. Are you trying to record to an audio track? Do you have an input and output assigned to the track? If you just hit play, without enabling record, does the transport start? In the lower left hand corner of the large transport does it say "Transport=Pro Tools" Did your Pro Tools version come with sample sessions, and do they play OK? Try setting up a new audio track within the sample session and see if that records.

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Old 11-17-2013, 08:43 AM