Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2002, 08:04 PM
Joz Joz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 744
Default Drums in big recording room.

Ok, my friend that, owns a nice pro studio, were a lot of famous rock bands record their drums(like foo fighters, Jimi Eat World, Sheryl Crow etc.)anyways, he's letting me use his tracking room to record my drummer for free. The problem is that I only have 8 inputs, cause I'm gonna use my digi 001. He's got lots of mics. I was thinking on using 3-toms, snare bottom and top, kick drum, one overhead and 2 room mics since the room is really good.
Do you think it's a good idea to use only one overhead, and 2 room mics, or should I use 2 overheads, and bus the 2 top toms to one input?
and what mics would you use for a powerful rock sound (like stone temple Pilots new albums).
thanks
PS: the recording will be this monday
__________________
"I never hit a women with her clothes on!"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2002, 11:08 PM
BPollen BPollen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Posts: 34
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

Please take this for what it is, OPINION! If it were up to me, I would ask myself what is most important to have controle of? Obviously Kick And either snare top or Snare top plus Snare bottom deserve their own tracks. But, if you have a large format console and a good ear, don't be afraid of the bus! My session would look something like this. Kick (SM 91a) track 1 / Snare Top (SM 57) & Snare Bottom (Senh 441) track 2 / Toms 1,2,&3 (Akg 414's) tracks 3 & 4 / Overheads (Neuman U-69 xy) & Hi Hat (Neuman km 84) & Ride (Neuman km 84) tracks 5 & 6 / Room Mikes Galore (Neuman M 149's or AKG C-12's) tracks 7 & 8!>!>! This will take some time to get set up, but I believe that it is making the most out of what you can. Above all, if it sounds good then do it,......if it doesn't then fix it!! GOOD LUCK on Monday.

[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
A generous thank you from Pollen Productions & B !!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2002, 01:51 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

This is my opinion: If I have few channels I don't waste them on room recording. I record everything on separate channels, but I don't bother recording snare bottom as I will compress the s**t out of the top mic anyway and it will sound good... And I don't mix hat and oh´s together cause sometimes you don't need to use hat track at all and other times it is very important. About mics - you can throw stones at me, but I have found that those cheap sennheiser`s "evolution" mic´s for drumz sound incredible! I mean for kick and toms. anyway, I would go like this:
1. Kick (sennheiser evolution) 2. Snare (sm57 or beta57) 3. tom1 (sennheiser evolution) 4. tom2 (sennheiser evolution) 5. tom3 (sennheiser evolution) 6. hat (any good condenser) 7. oh L (any good condenser) 8. oh R (any good condenser)
I would keep the overheads wide! ... but keep the drumz tight!
peace.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2002, 04:38 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

Kick - (inside & out mixed on desk)
Sn - (top and ugh! bottom if you must! mixed on desk)
Stereo Toms (mixed on desk)
Stereo OH (inc ride + hh mic if you must - mixed on desk)
Stereo Room (Various mics - mixed on desk)

You BEST tool in the box will be the engineer you are given to work with. (even if he is a junior) Make sure you make FULL use of his experience in that room or you will be making a very foolish mistake. He will have seen how the pros do it.. All you need to say is - we have to record the drums to 8 tracks... he can advise you from there. Are you allowed to use their own in house PT rig? That might be easier for them... ASK that first before you make the pro studio use your 001.

Good luck! & let us know how it went.

BTW if you turn up with old drum heads and *****ty cymbals you will be blowing your chance. Borrow snare drums so you have 3 or 4 to try out & get as many great cymbals & hihats as you can muster to the session. If you are inexperienced with drum tuning hire / beg for a friend to come down who can...

If you arrive with a worn snare skin & dented tom heads the studio staff will think you are a TOTAL moron. (but put the skins on & tune them one or two nights before so they "settle in")

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2002, 05:15 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

Hey Jules! how goes it!

anyway, as usual Jules is right.. I will add my 2 cents though... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

I went to a studio that had a custom one-off yamaha drum recording kit. It was unbelievable. Probably cost $10,000...Huge, great sounding kit. The room was at the TIME MACHINE in Vermont. One of the best drum rooms i've ever seen. Mic selection was like waking to find myself in recording heaven. What did we use? An old 18" tom sitting on two cloth covered bricks for a kick. A 10 year old beat to **** snare, 1 tom off the yamaha kit and a couple of cymbols off the yamaha kit. We grabbed some tube-traps and created a little "stonehenge" around the tiny beat-up kit and tracked it with 1 kick mic, 1 top 1 bottom snare mic, 1 tom mic and 2 overhead mics. The drums sounded so great the studio resident engineer couldn't believe it.
My point: It's not how many open mics you have. It's not about the most awsome drum kit, or the best mic...
It's all about the drummer and the engineer having their act together. You can get a wonderful set of drum tracks in your living room if you have a good drummer and a good engineer.

cheers

georgia
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2002, 02:28 PM
div32 div32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Torrance,CA 90503
Posts: 108
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

Quote:
Originally posted by georgia:
You can get a wonderful set of drum tracks in your living room if you have a good drummer and a good engineer.

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">True, but unless you live in a mansion, you won't get the STP sound. Maybe I'm thinking too much of the older albums, but I always thought of their drum sound as somewhat Bonham-esque. I second what Jules said about the engineer and make use of the room sound. You might ask the engineer his opinion of the best placement for the kit and for the room mics.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2002, 11:34 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

I like and use:
sm91 - kick
beta57 - snare bottom
c418 - snare top
c2000B, c3000B, c418 - toms
overheads, hihat - at4050

cheap and quite good package!!!
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2002, 04:33 AM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 459
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

just some more thoughts (only my opignion)

I would never never never bus anything together in the studio. You don't know their monitors, nor the acoustics in the control room. The only thing to bus together are toms if there is no other choice. If you bus 2 Kick miks, or the two snare mikes together, you will have problems, this is really something you should do while mixing.

My suggestion is, that since you already got the studio for free, you hire a good engineer for the soundcheck (maybe one ore two hours. ) There is no doubt that a experienced engineer will get you far superior drumtracks to your tape than if you try something your own.

my 2 Cts
daniel
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2002, 08:31 PM
Robin Hughes Robin Hughes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LondonUK
Posts: 40
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

I would suggest you get the drummer to play and walk round the room. When you find a spot where you reckon it sounds really good , put your best figure 8 mic , or an omni , at that point.

Then follow all the other advice given.
__________________
Robin
Subterfuge Studios , Opaic Records.
www.opaic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-12-2002, 01:00 AM
Tex Tiles Tex Tiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville, TN. USA
Posts: 300
Default Re: Drums in big recording room.

borrow an ADAT or some light pipe converters and get 16 channels of input via light pipe. then put everything on it's own channel, including room mics. You'll be glad you did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What level should i keep my drums so theres enough room for editing? rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 16 02-18-2012 10:03 AM
Dead room + Drums harlll Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-12-2004 10:39 PM
Treating a room for drums. Travis Mitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-19-2004 02:32 AM
I need 2 room mikes for drums digigirly Tips & Tricks 21 07-14-2002 12:29 AM
recording drums in small room Joz Tips & Tricks 15 06-22-2002 07:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com