Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2007, 12:24 PM
Terry McNally Terry McNally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

i have searched a number of forums and can't seem to find anyone with quite the same problem as this,
i have been using pro tools in college for nearly 3 years, but i only recently got myself an MBOX2 for home use.

i had OSX 10.4.9 through the software update, and upon trying to instal Pro ToolsLE 7.3 found there was a problem, then i found that there was problems between the OS and the software.

Upon realising this, i rebooted my Macbook, and installed 10.4.6 that came with it, Pro Tools worked, but the OS became unstable and Reason 3.0 and Ableton Live 5.2 wouldnt re-install properly, this is when i heard of the combo update 10.4.9, which i installed this morning.

reason 3.0 and ableton live 5.2 have re-installed correctly, but now when i try to open pro tools (the first time i since i got the combo update, the icon blinks a couple of times in the dock, and then nothing else happens

i've tried uninstalling and re-installing Pro Tools 7.3, and ive just installed the update to 7.3.1, but still the problem persists


also just tried the update 7.3.1cs2, nothing seems to help

if anyone can help with this at all it would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2007, 12:55 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

Quote:
Upon realising this, i rebooted my Macbook, and installed 10.4.6 that came with it,
When you did this, did you re-format the drive and do a fresh install?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2007, 02:52 AM
Terry McNally Terry McNally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

reformated, didnt leave any thing on the mac, thats why i had to re-install my other programs, and thats when the problems started happening
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:08 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,498
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

You say you did the 'Combo Update' to 10.4.9, yes? You're absolutely sure you didn't use the software update panel - that's usually what has caused this problem where the combo update fixes it.

If that's the case, are you able to launch Pro Tools from a new admin account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2007, 02:47 AM
Terry McNally Terry McNally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

im positive i have the right one, i downloaded it from the digidesign website, just tried creating alternate administrator, and the same problem is still there.

i originally got osx 10.4.9 from the software update, but after i heard of this problem i rebooted and got the combo update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2007, 03:37 AM
meric meric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: France
Posts: 268
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

HI
YOU NEED TO GET
MAC OS 10.4.9 COMBO UPDATEEEEE
__________________
Protools HDN Card, DigiGrid DLS, Avid Omni, Aurora 8, Digi 96 I/O


Waves mercury Bundle
Massey Plug-ins
AIR Creative Bundle
many Audio gears...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:11 AM
S2H S2H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

I am having the EXACT same problem...almost. Only difference with me is I am running the Intel iMac G5. I originally updated through the software update, then realized, I shouldn't have. Last night I went through and reinstalled OSX with the original DVD and then I updated to 10.4.9 with the combination update that digidesign's website links to through apple. Downloaded that (310 MB) and installed it, and ProTools will still not open. I am sure I used the COMBO update this time and still same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:23 AM
meric meric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: France
Posts: 268
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

hi
I had same problem but after combo update it's ok
__________________
Protools HDN Card, DigiGrid DLS, Avid Omni, Aurora 8, Digi 96 I/O


Waves mercury Bundle
Massey Plug-ins
AIR Creative Bundle
many Audio gears...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:40 AM
S2H S2H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch From The Dock

bump...any help please??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software updater keeps appearing in dock with Pro Tools 10.3.7 launch GeorgieC macOS 3 01-18-2014 06:04 PM
Pro Tools just bounces in the dock? Smithcok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-31-2008 12:32 PM
OSX 10.4 ProTools LE 7.3 Launch Failure/Bouncing Icon on Dock JohnColtrane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-29-2008 12:22 PM
PT LE 7.3.1cs4 will not launch - bounces once in the dock... jdjustice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-11-2007 06:42 AM
PTLE won't launch - just bouncing in the dock jeppo1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-29-2005 03:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com