Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:10 PM
Ryan711902 Ryan711902 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Macbook Air

www.apple.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:20 PM
tbkbt tbkbt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: glasgow, scotland, UK
Posts: 77
Default Re: Macbook Air

seems extremely over priced to me £1200 , 13 inch display 1.6GHZ processor, a fair 2GB of memmory, but no DVD player/reader thats another £50ish. enjoy using your mbox on it wiht your single USB port, so no ilok and certainly no external drive, and also have fun recording to the 80GB 4200RPM hard drive lol. im not trying to put it down, athough i realise i am, but i would rather just have a normal macbook or laptop, afterall i carry my 17 inch notebook around every day but i dont feel i need a 1.3KG notebook. just my take, although im sure it will sell in the millions as will pretty much everything apple will make
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:23 PM
Ryan711902 Ryan711902 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Macbook Air

Agreed It's sexy, but I think it will be usless for audio recording.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2008, 01:24 PM
beetsman beetsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: Macbook Air

It's probably not meant for PT LE. It probably runs Logic or Logic Express better. Digidesign is always behind anyway.
__________________
You can't spell music without u
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2008, 04:02 PM
qwex qwex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Default Re: Macbook Air

Quote:
It's probably not meant for PT LE. It probably runs Logic or Logic Express better. Digidesign is always behind anyway.
Digidesign is always behind? What does this have to do with the new Mac computer being released? They had nothing to do with it. I seriously hope you are being sarcastic here. If not, then please leave your bad attitude at home...

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2008, 04:45 PM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Macbook Air

In a roundabout way, it actually has everything do with this computer. Obviously this new computer will run Leopard, and the PT leopard update is still not officially available. Hence, Digi is always behind. They can't even keep up with minor updates in Tiger. It is the nature of the Protools Beast.
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2008, 06:30 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Re: Macbook Air

He was just stating he's option.

.2 faster processor and it jumps to $3,XXX...jez
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:37 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Macbook Air

its the Solid-State Hard Drive that bumps the price up over $3000. No moving parts, no reader, no disc.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2008, 06:56 AM
stoneinapond stoneinapond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: ny
Posts: 993
Default Re: Macbook Air

Quote:
In a roundabout way, it actually has everything do with this computer. Obviously this new computer will run Leopard, and the PT leopard update is still not officially available. Hence, Digi is always behind. They can't even keep up with minor updates in Tiger. It is the nature of the Protools Beast.
This just goes to prove that when people have an agenda, with no substance, they can be dumber than a tree stump.

Where's the FireWire port to even begin to consider this for PT? Yes, at a stretch (and that's a real stretch,) it could work with an mBox Micro, if you're into swapping iLoks and interfaces around.

Yes, hubs, shmubs......

Yes, I know, someone with more money than sense will want to do it, but really, this is not a media machine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:09 AM
kooz kooz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 263
Default Re: Macbook Air

Quote:
this is not a media machine
Well, possibly not for creation of media, but definitely for consumption of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 09:32 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-19-2012 12:22 AM
Request advice on PTLE Macbook vs Macbook Pro mtbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-08-2007 09:53 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 05:07 PM
Davecs for Macbook or Macbook Pro running Windows? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-16-2006 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com