Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:33 AM
landros landros is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default PPC quad and number of RTAS processors

Hello dear DUC,

I'm having some issues with my workstation theses days, i fell i'm not getting enough power out of it. I'm currently working on a digi002 on a PPC quad 2.5 with 4 gigs of ram, osx 10.3.9, pt 7.3.1, and i use a separate disc for recording audio, sata at 10'000 rpms.

I'm working on some sessions for a rock band, 10 mic drums, 2 guitars, bass, vocals and a bunch of overdubs. My sessions hold about 20 comps/gates, 20 eqs, 2 amplitubes and 2 reverbs. It's almost impossible for me to run the session, well it runs, but if i open a plugin a to change a control value my session crashes telling me i need more H/W buffer.

I tried to mess around with the Playback engine settings, and generally the best results are when using 1 RTAS proc at 99% with 1024 buffer size which i find VERY strange, I can't see what's using the 3 other prcessors. I also noticed moving the DAE buffer to anything but 2 (default) reduces system performances.

Cany anyone tell me what might help my performances?!?

I work in a studio equipped with a PPC 2x2.5 and they run sessions with a lot more tracks and plugs than me and it seems to run extremely fluidly... why?!? ok they use Digital Performer, but i doubt that's the issue, or at least refuse to believe =)

please help
- Julien
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2007, 06:34 AM
tomdiek tomdiek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 201
Default Re: PPC quad and number of RTAS processors

10.4 is the minimum qualified OS for PT 7.

"Mac OS X 10.4 Required for all versions of Pro Tools 7 on Mac OS X. Pro Tools 7 will not run on Mac OS X 10.3.9 (Panther) and earlier."

Has it been working before this with that OS and PT version?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
24 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Apogee Symphony MKII Thunderbolt 2X6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2007, 08:56 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: PPC quad and number of RTAS processors

Quote:
10.4 is the minimum qualified OS for PT 7.

"Mac OS X 10.4 Required for all versions of Pro Tools 7 on Mac OS X. Pro Tools 7 will not run on Mac OS X 10.3.9 (Panther) and earlier."

Has it been working before this with that OS and PT version?
He might be mistaken - the Quad was introduced after the release of 10.4, the first Quads shipped with 10.4.2. I don't even know if any 10.3 version will run on a Quad...
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:32 AM
landros landros is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: PPC quad and number of RTAS processors

indeed sorry, 10.4.3 is my current OSX version
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set number of processors in PT11? kirkbross Pro Tools 11 4 10-02-2013 11:59 AM
Number of processors Boe Larsen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-22-2012 02:57 PM
Core I7 950 What RTAS processors number select??? Hidden 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-20-2011 03:31 PM
Number of processors? lownotesinc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-23-2010 08:49 PM
Pentium 4 & number of processors for RTAS processing? msk011 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-17-2008 04:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com