Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2007, 09:01 PM
CalebB CalebB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 126
Default 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Does the 003 rack allow me to directly monitor my inputs as they come in to the box like the M-Box?

I'd like to upgrade from the original M-Box but my G5 doesn't run well with smaller then 1024 buffer sizes, which I have lived with because of the direct monitor feature.

Also, why does PTLE 7.3.1cs2 crash all the time for me?

G5 Power Mac PPC
2.0 Ghz dual
4.5 GB RAM
OS 10.4.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2007, 04:55 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

No it doesn't, i find this frustrating coming from an Mbox, it's software monitoring all the way, so you either have to have aux inputs or record enabled tracks to get audio throughput.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2007, 08:46 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Use Low Latency Monitoring. It's not quite the same as software monitoring, as the monitored signal doesn't make the trip through the computer - monitoring is done in the interface.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:23 AM
CalebB CalebB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 126
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Thank you both.

I have heard of low latency monitoring, but I don't know what that is. Anybody want to shed some light on that for me?

Is this feature of low latency monitoring taxing on the CPU?

G5 Tower PPC
2.0 Ghz dual
4.5 GB RAM
10.4.9
PTLE 7.3.1cs2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:39 AM
gar_lei gar_lei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Hello

I have a Digi002 and I'm experiencing the same problem while monitoring... Latency...
I used M-Powered Protools before and M-Audio had a little software that allows me direct monitoring.
And I couldn't find that with my Digi002.

So where can I find Low Latency Monitoring?


Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:44 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

People, look in the manual for Low Latency Monitoring. It's a feature of Digi 001, 002, 003 and Mbox 2 PRO, and it's exactly what you're looking for. It's more convenient than the (cheaper to implement) mixer found on the Mbox, and it achieves lower latency than the smallest buffer size in ProTools LE.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:51 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Low latency monitoring will give you a low latency input signal but it still won't let you monitor your inputs without a track being record enabled or an aux input assigned. I find this really irritating when im just scratching down ideas with my POD and i can't hear the guitar unless i have one of the above activated.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:58 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Yes, that's true. When I was using digi 002, I just kep my buffer at 128 or below, and rarely used low latency monitoring, since I was using Amplitube.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:13 PM
kRokksOn kRokksOn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 160
Default Re: 003 zero latency; Mix/Playback?

Quote:
Low latency monitoring will give you a low latency input signal but it still won't let you monitor your inputs without a track being record enabled or an aux input assigned. I find this really irritating when im just scratching down ideas with my POD and i can't hear the guitar unless i have one of the above activated.

Cheers
You enable low latency mode in the options menu (at the bottom, says low latency monitoring).
And to hear your intput while playing back without having to record, keep your inputs as auto input monitoring, press alt+k to switch between track and auto input monitor.
__________________
"lyrics, wasted time between solos!"

kiddipalli@simnet.is
syrland.is
myspace.com/kiddipalli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9 and QT playback latency tokolosh Post - Surround - Video 2 11-27-2010 05:40 PM
Playback latency when using VIDEO koka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-14-2010 02:26 PM
Playback Latency Art Disco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-10-2008 09:16 AM
latency on playback. why?? dobryden2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-17-2007 09:46 AM
latency on playback?? dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-30-2001 05:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com