Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-21-2007, 04:05 AM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

Quote:
Shows you where his loyalties are, MONEY!!!
And Apple Shareholders would let him keep his job if they weren't?
__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-22-2007, 12:16 AM
Phil Jeffers Phil Jeffers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

I heard of a guy with an older G4 Powerbook that installed 10.4.10 that has vastly improved the performance of his machine. Admitadely he uses Digital Performer, but he was talking about overall system performance. I also read that this update was to address a lot of Fire Wire audio issues, which sound great for LE users!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:49 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

I loaded 10.4.10 on my old non-Digi G4 PowerBook computer and it is running slower.

There are NO improvements for Firewire. Where you heard that was wrong. The major areas are:

- RAW camera support
- Mounting and unmounting external USB drives
- Support for 3rd party software applications
- Security updates
Improves compatibility of Mathematica 6 with 64-bit Macs

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305533

I don't see anything that would improve the life of a Digi user.

There are files for the iPhone included in 10.4.10 so the update may have been primarily for the iPhone.

/System/Library/Image Capture/Devices/PTPCamera.app/Contents/Resources/Apple iPhone.icns
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:40 PM
stmiller stmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 34
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

See this post. This person claims a change in firewire audio with .10:

http://discussions.apple.com/message...769832#4769832

EDIT: Checking those mentioned files on my 10.4.10 machine shows they were not altered with this update. PPC 10.4.10. So who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-22-2007, 04:25 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

His post stated he was using an unreleased FW driver that is causing the problems.

No new FW drivers in 10.4.10 according to Apple.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:34 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

Quote:
His post stated he was using an unreleased FW driver that is causing the problems.

No new FW drivers in 10.4.10 according to Apple.
Definitely new FW audio and MLAN drivers in 10.4.10, probably not relevant to most ProTools users. (I don't recall, does the Mbox 2 Pro use OS X's buit-in FW audio driver?)
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:46 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

I don't see any mention of new FW drivers from Apple:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305533
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:17 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

Then you should install it, and check the versions, like I did. 10.4.10 installs a 2.x Firewire Audio driver... which I'm guessing is a release of the FW audio driver beta that's been used by Apogee Ensemble users for months.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:45 AM
STAR NINE STAR NINE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Buffalo New York
Posts: 117
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again


Machine Name: Power Mac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac7,2
CPU Type: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
Number Of CPUs: 2
CPU Speed: 2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1.5 GB
Bus Speed: 1 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.1.4f0


I have downloaded 10.4.10
Everything seems to be running Fine, here

Just Peachy !!!!



God Bless !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:14 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: 10.4.10 Here we go again

Installed, and no problems so far.

Peace,

Roger
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com