Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-24-2020, 07:41 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
In here at least
as i suspected.. thanks for confirming mate.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, dual boot OS 10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 2018/2019
-MSI Alpha 15, Win 10 pro, 16GB ram, AMD 3750H quad core, AMD 5500M, Mbox 3 (can finally use it LOL!).
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(ô)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-24-2020, 08:38 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 28
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Iíve been going around and around with native Instruments support about another issue and actually have an ongoing dialogue with them. Iím going to explain whatís going on with Kontakt, Pro, Tools, Catalina, etc. Iím sure they already know but any amount of keeping on them is good.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-24-2020, 10:34 AM
fixxer49 fixxer49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 47
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

i would suggest vienna ensemble pro.

i also find that there is better performance in VEP w/ Kontakt when Kontakt is instantiated as a VST plugin, not AU.

i run stupidly large midi score sessions.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-24-2020, 11:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixxer49 View Post
I would suggest vienna ensemble pro.

I also find that there is better performance in VEP w/ Kontakt when Kontakt is instantiated as a VST plugin, not AU.

I run stupidly large midi score sessions.
Another vote for VEPro even on a single computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-24-2020, 11:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixxer49 View Post
I would suggest vienna ensemble pro.

I also find that there is better performance in VEP w/ Kontakt when Kontakt is instantiated as a VST plugin, not AU.

I run stupidly large midi score sessions.
Another vote for VEPro even on a single computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-24-2020, 01:55 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 99
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixxer49 View Post
i would suggest vienna ensemble pro.

i also find that there is better performance in VEP w/ Kontakt when Kontakt is instantiated as a VST plugin, not AU.

i run stupidly large midi score sessions.
Agreed. If you're running 1-4 simple Kontakt instances, internal AAX is probably fine.

But for more complex scores, Instrument requirements and tempo-synced things (which tend to hang for me when used with Kontakt AAX - Session Strings Pro especially), VEP on the same machine is preferable.

Altho I hate having to submix in VEP.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-24-2020, 04:19 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 28
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Ok, after a lot of investigation and also talking to various tech support people who know Kontakt well, I believe I know whatís up. It just comes down to the fact that the libraries are much larger and take more time these days..... like the Chris Hein orchestral stuff (which Iím using a LOT in this session). Even though I have a new iMac with all SSDs, it just takes time. And it might say that the program isnít responding, itís just still loading. I was told that running Batch Re-save in every library will help. Iím not really sure why because Kontakt isnít looking for missing files. I have everything well organized but I might try it for a few of the larger VI libraries and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:24 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Agreed. If you're running 1-4 simple Kontakt instances, internal AAX is probably fine.

But for more complex scores, Instrument requirements and tempo-synced things (which tend to hang for me when used with Kontakt AAX - Session Strings Pro especially), VEP on the same machine is preferable.

Altho I hate having to submix in VEP.
You don't have to submix in VEPro - you can run everything out to separate tracks in PT - that's the way I've always worked with VEPro & PT.
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
Ok, after a lot of investigation and also talking to various tech support people who know Kontakt well, I believe I know whatís up. It just comes down to the fact that the libraries are much larger and take more time these days..... like the Chris Hein orchestral stuff (which Iím using a LOT in this session). Even though I have a new iMac with all SSDs, it just takes time. And it might say that the program isnít responding, itís just still loading. I was told that running Batch Re-save in every library will help. Iím not really sure why because Kontakt isnít looking for missing files. I have everything well organized but I might try it for a few of the larger VI libraries and see what happens.
Batch re-save doesn't seem to really help - been there/tried that. Useless waste of time. The only time it may help is if a file has become fragmented or bits and bobs were placed by the installer in open holes in the file system.

I've become well aware that file sizes have gotten larger and loading taking time even with ssd's. Also keep in mind that some developers sample every note rather than every couple of notes and use an interpolation routine to take care of the rest. For example in UVI Falcon I have their Steinway D add-on library and the Baldwin Parlor Grand from Whole Sounds. The Steinway does not provide samples for every note but the Baldwin does. Couple that with the Baldwin having multiple layers for ir's and some other stuff and it takes FAR longer to load than the Steinway even from the same ssd on a pcie card. If I have multiple instances of Falcon with the Baldwin on it I regularly get the spinning color wheel when opening the session or autosave in PT kicks in. Sucks but you get used to it; maybe NVME drives would help but that's not something I can afford in the sizes I would need.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,371
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
For example in UVI Falcon I have their Steinway D add-on library and the Baldwin Parlor Grand from Whole Sounds. The Steinway does not provide samples for every note but the Baldwin does. Couple that with the Baldwin having multiple layers for ir's and some other stuff and it takes FAR longer to load than the Steinway even from the same ssd on a pcie card.
That is a problem of Baldwin then. I wouldn't know, I only have the said UVI Steinway D and for comparison Ivory II American Concert D which has 50GB sample library and 20 velocity layers for each note. Funny thing, Ivory loads faster than UVI because it loads required samples dynamically and does not try to store all 50GB in memory.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-25-2020, 05:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Spinning wheel of death and Pro Tools Ultimate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That is a problem of Baldwin then. I wouldn't know, I only have the said UVI Steinway D and for comparison Ivory II American Concert D which has 50GB sample library and 20 velocity layers for each note. Funny thing, Ivory loads faster than UVI because it loads required samples dynamically and does not try to store all 50GB in memory.
That 50 gig - is that the real file size on your sample drive? Remember that Falcon uses lossless compression and runs that in real time. Baldwins loads everything from what the developer has said. The Baldwin file size is roughly 3.2 gig but because of the compression has something like 88 gig of samples. I find that UVI Steinway loads up phenomally fast - don't have Ivory II D.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning wheel of death protoolsuserman macOS 2 07-26-2014 05:15 PM
Spinning Wheel of Death on Pro Tools 8 M-Powered zachscott Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-29-2010 02:38 PM
Spinning wheel of death again Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-22-2010 04:05 PM
Spinning wheel of death Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-25-2009 06:42 PM
Spinning wheel of death!!! alw4416 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-09-2007 10:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com