Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2016, 04:47 PM
arb232 arb232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Default Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

After about 5-6 hours of editing I have to restart my computer because of a lag. Does anyone else experience this? It's fine in the first couple of hours but then towards the end of the day my key commands feel delayed when watching them on the screen.

Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2016, 06:24 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

I see this if I'm doing a lot of edits. It's not new to 12.5 though.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2016, 07:02 AM
arb232 arb232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

Do we know the reason why this is being caused?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2016, 07:17 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,209
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

I think it's a pt graphic problem, it happens to me when using beat detective on drum tracks = lots of edits.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2016, 06:31 PM
juraju juraju is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Lima Peru
Posts: 2
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

Yes definitely something graphic, I have to consolidate edits or clip group so it's not showing all the edits and turns back to normal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2016, 06:59 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,209
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

After my last graphic drivers update on W10 I'm not longer having this issue. Are you on Mac? I just read in another thread that El Capitan users have been having more graphic issues that the new OS might possibly solve.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2016, 08:01 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,682
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

all programs slow down a bit as the sessions build up .. the Programs are Telling you to Take A Break ... Save and Breathe and Restart .. no one builds in breaks any more .. we should all just start smoking again .. plenty of breaks all day long .. LOL ...
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2016, 08:45 PM
juraju juraju is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Lima Peru
Posts: 2
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

The funny thing is when there's a lot of edits in the session, with no plugins at all. The issue for me is on Windows 7 because the same session on Mac OS 10.8.5 works perfectly, on Windows I have to consolidate all the heavy edits so I can zoom in and out or continue editing without waiting 5 to 10 secs to display a zoom or use the selector tool that takes longer....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2016, 04:31 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,259
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

I always thought it was a RAM thing...!? I used to get it a lot on my old Macbook Pro (2Gb), when a re-start would 'clear the decks'.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2016, 05:52 AM
biffrov biffrov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6
Default Re: Does PT 12.5 slow down after awhile for you?

I have the same problem. It's EXTREMELY frustrating.

Tried:
1. All optimizations.
2. Different harddrives (and optimizing them)
3. I have no floppy.
4. Messing with disk cache.

It doesn't seem to be a graphics problems since _everything_ freezes for 3-5 second if do a cut/fade/slide the region.

The only thing that solves it is when I consolidate all the cuts. And that isn't really an option.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Intel I7 3,4 ghz
16gig ram

PT12 has been all problems for me since I bought it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer gets REALLY slow after awhile... moonwalker2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-03-2010 08:07 AM
Sluggish after working for awhile bigbadhenchman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-26-2006 03:57 PM
A Little Help, Its Been Awhile.... Bloux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-06-2004 11:01 AM
Will USB spec be stable for awhile? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-30-2003 04:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com