Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2013, 02:46 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default 003 and third party programs

OSX 10.6.8

PT 10.3.2

003 driver 9.0 r3


Cannot use any versions of pro tools or OSX past these stated above., otherwise third party programs, ie: itunes, spotify, youtube etc etc... do not play through 003. Symptoms are the wheel of doom, then failure...
I've had an expensive Black Lion Audio mod done to my 003 rack, and have no wish to change interfaces in the near future.

Lion and mountain Lion dont support third party programs with 003 rack,
Snow Leopard 10.6.8 does support, but cannot update pro tools past 10.3.2 as failure occurs again with third party programs.

Any ideas, or disscussion on this? Perhaps its just me?, or am I a dinosaur expecting longevity with this great sounding interface and Avid moving forward......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2013, 05:42 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

No it's not you man. I have the same problem. Programs used to automatically used to open. Now nothing. I have read about a go around from the DCU. I always keep the core audio driver in the dock. Start up core audio first and open your program. I got it to work with Reason but can't get it to work with iTunes or with Safari etc..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2013, 02:51 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

Hi, i come out my Mac's sound output and run that into the Aux in on the 003r.

Then to play with pro tools, you use monitor and run the 003r as usual. To play itunes, youtube and other stuff, you just hit the Aux in button on the 003r and you hear the mac sound output. This is how most of us use this.


Messing with the core driver etc is not going to work consistently and hasnt since pro tools 8.



Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2013, 02:58 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

Ahhh ha!!! I never though of that. You won't lose anything using the Mac card And not the core driver?
I'm going to try that other way😉


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:28 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

i lose nothing. I play itunes, watch youtube videos etc etc and run it all out my monitors using the Aux in. When i run pro tools, i dont monitor from Aux in, but from the monitors.


Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2013, 03:31 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

Thanks, using aux is a great idea. Obvious now that you mention it, guess thats why user forums were invented :0)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2013, 03:43 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

Just had to do it...

Of course, using my unstable (insert favorite adjectives here ___________, __________, _____________) Windows 7 I have no problem playing YouTube, Windows Media Player, whatever through my 003R with nary a cable in sight.

I just set the Digidesign driver as my "audio default" and it's been rocking every since.

But I really do feel for you Mac guys who have to do all of this fiddling in order to get a system as stable and reliable as a Win 7 system...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2013, 05:56 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

Come on Bill. You know how many times I hear about Window machines acting up. Sounds like you are one of the lucky ones.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2014, 03:56 PM
beefpitas beefpitas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: 003 and third party programs

i have noticed that the core audio driver for digi/avid hardware is very different from other devices. but two things to try are:
1) be sure the interface is plugged into your mac before you power up the mac. the mac os looks for audio devices that it was connected to. so if you used the 002, it will boot looking for the 002. if you then connect the 002 after you've booted, it will not work properly.

2) it seems that you must have the core audio driver that goes with your protools version, or protools will not work properly. whereas, most other devices have a driver that communicates the device to the os and then your daw looks to the os for audio devices, protools was not designed that way, so the older drivers seem to be linked to the protools versions. that is probably why avid doesn't release drivers per your os. they release them per your protools version.

some of that has changed recently. but if you have an older os and a fw interface, that has been my experience trying to get the core audio drivers to work with your os and protools.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2014, 01:57 PM
djevon's Avatar
djevon djevon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default 003 and third party programs

I am having this same issue with my 003. I get sound when I listen with itunes but with safari it won't play a sound. But I will have to do the aux input thingy.

But still, having to pay almost $300 for pro tools software update and they take forever to release audio driver updates. The updates are only released when apple releases their os x update.
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd party programs with HD interface trustyjim Windows 0 09-28-2011 09:46 PM
Apple 3rd party programs can't see my 002 rack kriskaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-10-2009 10:13 AM
Problems with 3rd party programs and Mbox/CoreAudi RCOLOGNE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-21-2005 03:36 PM
Please Allow 3rd Party Programs to Record Again... Producers Never Sleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-18-2004 06:36 AM
Audio capture using third party programs cdxpat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-20-2003 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com