Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2019, 04:41 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 101
Default -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

This is a new spin on an old thread.
The dreaded -9129 error message.

Here's what's happening...
Running a Mac with Mojave 10.14.6
i7-7700K CPU @ 4.2Ghz
64Gb of Ram.

Running Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10
32Gb of Ram allocated to PT.
Buffer set to 512.

Interface is Omni HD.

Everything works perfectly.
A 96 track session @ 41K with 4 plugins on every channel
6 reverbs
6 delays

PT is purring along at less than 30% on the 8 cores. Runs for hours.
No problems at all.

As soon as I connect a Digi 192 i/o the whole things goes to ****.

I've tried connecting the Omni, 192 and the HD card differently.
Tried different clocking scenarios.

No dice.
As soon as I disconnect the 192 i/o everything works again.

Has anyone experienced this?
Or anything similar with this new version of Pro Tools.

I've read lots of posts that older 192 i/o work with Pro Tools 12, etc...

What's different?

Thoughts?

AQ.

Sorry my new Mac is not part of my Sig just yet.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2019, 08:37 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,916
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

Hmmm, the 192 is no longer supported, and while Avid said they won't do anything to "break it" on purpose, it might fall victim to an update. Testing involves 2 things:
#1-roll back to the previous release of PT(2019.6 IIRC). If it works fine on that, then maybe its time to recycle the 192 or stick with 2019.6 until funds allow replacing the 192.
#2-try to borrow/rent an HD IO box and test with that. If the errors continue, then maybe the new version of PT has a bug.

You said you tried different connections and clocking, but that's pretty vague. I see only 2 connection methods, 192 off the expansion port of OMNI, or 192 directly to the second port on the HDN card. As for clocking, LoopSync is the only method I would use with this hardware, but I would double-check that the BNC connections are correct and snug

It also would be worthwhile running a DigiTest cycle to see if the 192 reports any problems
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2019, 01:01 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,137
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

Stock cards in the 192?
(8x8 analog 8 digital)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:02 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 101
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

Yes.
The older Digi 192 has one analog input card, one analog output card and two digital i/o cards.

I also have an Apogee Trak 2 which has an Ambus HD card installed.

If I have everything connected, all the devices are seen in the i/o window, PT will launch but won't play. I get the -9129 error message.

If I have just the 192 connected the same scenario. PT sees both devices but will not play.

If only the Omni is connected, everything works perfectly.

Answering the question about clocking.
I have an Audio Design ProBox that is used to distribute clock to all my digital reverbs including a UA 2192.

I've tried using that as I normally would.
Omni to ProBox. ProBox distributes clock to 192, 2192, Trak 2, etc...
No go.

I've taken the PrBox out of the "proverbially loop" and connected using Loop Sync.
No go.

I've done this with both the 192 and the Trak 2 connected and with just the 192 connected.

Pro Tools will not play. As soon as I hit play I get the error message.

As soon as I disconnect everything Pro Tools plays.

AND connecting the Omni directly to the ProBox with the UA2192 connected as my D/A, Pro Tools plays.

It's only when I connect another i/o device that I get the -9129 error message.

What do you think?
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2019, 04:46 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 539
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

You can definitely do what you are trying to do with the 192. I have a Lynx Aurora 16, HD I/O and a 192 all connected to my Native card and do not have any issues running all the devices together.

They are all connected using Loop Sync which with the Aurora was a pain, but once got it dialed in things have been running smooth.

So if you have just the 192 connected it works or it doesn't work?
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.6 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | 2 x Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:49 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,137
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

try removing one of the Digital cards (keep top)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2019, 07:33 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 101
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

Thanks for the replies guys.
I will try these options and reply back.

AQ.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2019, 08:17 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 101
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10


So if you have just the 192 connected it works or it doesn't work?


I haven't tried just the 192 without the Omni.
Do you think that would work?

I have had the 192 connected to the Omni.
That did not work.

Both i/o devices are seen.
Clocking with the Omni as Master fails. Immediate -9129 error.
Clocking with the 192 as Master is the same.

As soon as I hit play.... -9129 error.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2019, 08:29 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 539
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

Well it might tell you if the 192 is broke or causing the errors.
I would try it just to make sure that the 192 by itself behaves as you would expect.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.6 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | 2 x Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2019, 08:47 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 101
Default Re: -9129 error w/ HD Native Card and Pro Tool 2019.10

I haven't read anywhere that Pro Tools 2019 would run with an HD Native card without one of the newer Avid I/Os.

Has this been confirmed by anyone?

Connecting an HD Native card to an older Digi 192 with no other HD interface?

AQ.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Avid HD Native PCIE card with Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 Perpetual License Marc Hudson Buy & Sell 0 10-28-2019 07:33 AM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 02:45 AM
-9129 Errors: How many of you are using UAD-2 with PT Native? tclash Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-17-2012 06:02 PM
-9129 errors on HD NATIVE MBP QUAD CORE Cryos macOS 3 04-23-2012 07:47 AM
HD Native -9129 errors KMcK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-16-2011 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com