Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-12-2019, 08:04 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

So you open PT, don't load any session and just close PT and it will restart?
Or, does this only happen when a session is loaded?
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-2019, 03:14 PM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Same thing here. I can close a session or not and quit PT and it restarts everytime.
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-07-2019, 06:38 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Still doing it...
Was there ever a fix or work around for this?
Not losing anything, just aggravating.
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-07-2019, 07:43 AM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,699
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyPicks View Post
...Was there ever a fix or work around for this?...
Does Pro Tools still restart if you save with (Control+S), then exit with (Alt+F4)?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 10-07-2019 at 06:03 PM. Reason: use (Alt+F4) to exit Pro Tools - does Pro Tools still restart?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-08-2019, 06:20 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Does Pro Tools still restart if you save with (Control+S), then exit with (Alt+F4)?
Thanks, I'll try that.
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:09 AM
theposterkid theposterkid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

I'm afraid to even post this for fear of jinxing myself, but I think I was able to find a solution after suffering this annoying problem for months.

I followed these instructions. It's weird that I did not try this before, because I'm well aware of trashing prefs as is everyone else by now.

When I loaded up Pro Tools for the first time after that, during the boot up process, it couldn't find the FB360 plugin, which I think I had manually uninstalled at some point. So I clicked "Yes" to move it to the Unused plugins folder.

Now my Pro Tools does not re-open itself after I attempt to close it. I am happy.
__________________
Windows 10 Home
Pro Tools 2018.12
Motu 16A
Mackie MCU Pro
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:15 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

to unKJE:
nope, didn't work.

Thanks for responding.
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4

Last edited by GuyPicks; 10-08-2019 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-08-2019, 10:37 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by theposterkid View Post
I'm afraid to even post this for fear of jinxing myself, but I think I was able to find a solution after suffering this annoying problem for months.

I followed these instructions. It's weird that I did not try this before, because I'm well aware of trashing prefs as is everyone else by now.

When I loaded up Pro Tools for the first time after that, during the boot up process, it couldn't find the FB360 plugin, which I think I had manually uninstalled at some point. So I clicked "Yes" to move it to the Unused plugins folder.

Now my Pro Tools does not re-open itself after I attempt to close it. I am happy.
That Did it.
Thank you
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-09-2019, 03:22 PM
theposterkid theposterkid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

It worked for a couple days then started doing it again until I followed those same steps.
__________________
Windows 10 Home
Pro Tools 2018.12
Motu 16A
Mackie MCU Pro
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-06-2019, 09:35 PM
Tony Kosinec Tony Kosinec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: Can't close Pro Tools

Same here for 2019.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.12 won't to close babaorum Pro Tools 2018 3 05-04-2019 10:12 PM
pro tools wont close out` chdrummer Windows 8 05-14-2012 08:34 AM
Pro tools wont close kingof6strings 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-14-2010 12:49 PM
Cant close or save pro tools le 7.3.1 zcustomman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-27-2007 12:41 PM
Error Trying To Close Pro Tools... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2006 03:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com