Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2019, 11:39 AM
danieleither danieleither is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 24
Default Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

I'm currently using PT10 HD3 on a Mac Pro 3.1 8-core system. It runs pretty well provided I stick to mostly DSP plugins. I do like using a LOT of plugins in my work and I find it won't cope with many native plugins and runs out of memory easily, despite the system having 32gb. I believe PT10 can only utilise 4gb so this may be the reason why.

I've been considering upgrade to a PT12 or newer HDX setup for a while now (mostly due to the offline bounce and track rendering functionality) however I also understand that the newer tech will handle native plugins more efficiently?

I will also upgrade the MAC. I despise the cylindrical shape of the newer 6.1 Mac Pros so I'm considering a used 5.1 system and would be grateful if people could advise what spec I should be looking for? e.g. 6-core of 12-core? Is 3.46GHz processor enough? Is 32gb enough memory or should I be looking at 48gb / 64gb / 96gb etc?

With regards my usage, I'm a home-studio producer working on my own music only. Only recording a few tracks simultaneously, most of the time tracking one track at a time. Mixture of analogue tracks and virtual instruments 50/50 and typical track counts 35-50.

What I'm looking to achieve is to be able to use a lot more native plugins (e.g. Soundtoys, Izotope, Waves) rather than be restricted to the Avid DSP plugins even though they are excellent.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2019, 01:38 PM
tclash tclash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 252
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

I am running 2018.12 (regular) on a Mac Pro 4,1 that I flashed to a 5,1. I also recently upgraded the processor to a 6-core 3.46GHz and have 16GB of RAM. I haven't come anywhere near maxing it out, even on a 90 track mix with tons of plugs. This was at a 44.1 sample rate, and I use a fair amount of UAD plugs. But still, it was only hitting about 25% of CPU usage. I also use a lot of Soundtoys/Waves.

I came from PT10 HD Native... It seems like between 10 and 2018 they really optimized plugin CPU usage.

If you don't mind tinkering, you could probably find a 4,1 for cheap and then flash/upgrade. It was not at all difficult to swap out the CPU and the X5690 I put in was only $100.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2019, 08:04 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tclash View Post
If you don't mind tinkering, you could probably find a 4,1 for cheap and then flash/upgrade. It was not at all difficult to swap out the CPU and the X5690 I put in was only $100.
Might be worth reminding that a 4,1 requires delidded CPUs. Although far from impossible, that's an extra step that needs to be taken with caution... A "true" 5,1 is a very simple upgrade by comparison.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:39 PM
tclash tclash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 252
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KV626 View Post
Might be worth reminding that a 4,1 requires delidded CPUs.
The single CPU in 4,1's, like mine, doesn't need to be delidded. That's just the dual CPU models. Mine was a super simple swap.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2019, 10:42 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

I run a 2010 5,1 Mac Pro (see my profile for specs) and I’m bugged by a GUI lag that is driving me insane. I’ve just upgraded to 2018.12 on 10.13.6 and it’s still there. Avid know about it but that’s as far as they’ve got. Otherwise the 5,1 Mac Pro’s with the 3.46GHz 6-core are awesome.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2019, 10:45 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Also consider upgrading your stock 5770 graphics card (or whatever comes with the 3,1 or 4,1) to one that supports Metal. If you’re in the UK Create Pro will help you out. If not then MacVidCards are the place to look.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2019, 10:47 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danieleither View Post
I'm currently using PT10 HD3 on a Mac Pro 3.1 8-core system. It runs pretty well provided I stick to mostly DSP plugins. I do like using a LOT of plugins in my work and I find it won't cope with many native plugins and runs out of memory easily, despite the system having 32gb. I believe PT10 can only utilise 4gb so this may be the reason why.



I've been considering upgrade to a PT12 or newer HDX setup for a while now (mostly due to the offline bounce and track rendering functionality) however I also understand that the newer tech will handle native plugins more efficiently?



I will also upgrade the MAC. I despise the cylindrical shape of the newer 6.1 Mac Pros so I'm considering a used 5.1 system and would be grateful if people could advise what spec I should be looking for? e.g. 6-core of 12-core? Is 3.46GHz processor enough? Is 32gb enough memory or should I be looking at 48gb / 64gb / 96gb etc?



With regards my usage, I'm a home-studio producer working on my own music only. Only recording a few tracks simultaneously, most of the time tracking one track at a time. Mixture of analogue tracks and virtual instruments 50/50 and typical track counts 35-50.



What I'm looking to achieve is to be able to use a lot more native plugins (e.g. Soundtoys, Izotope, Waves) rather than be restricted to the Avid DSP plugins even though they are excellent.


Just seen that you’re in the UK, definitely check out Create Pro


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2019, 06:16 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danieleither View Post
I'm currently using PT10 HD3 on a Mac Pro 3.1 8-core system. It runs pretty well provided I stick to mostly DSP plugins. I do like using a LOT of plugins in my work and I find it won't cope with many native plugins and runs out of memory easily, despite the system having 32gb. I believe PT10 can only utilise 4gb so this may be the reason why.

I've been considering upgrade to a PT12 or newer HDX setup for a while now (mostly due to the offline bounce and track rendering functionality) however I also understand that the newer tech will handle native plugins more efficiently?

I will also upgrade the MAC. I despise the cylindrical shape of the newer 6.1 Mac Pros so I'm considering a used 5.1 system and would be grateful if people could advise what spec I should be looking for? e.g. 6-core of 12-core? Is 3.46GHz processor enough? Is 32gb enough memory or should I be looking at 48gb / 64gb / 96gb etc?

With regards my usage, I'm a home-studio producer working on my own music only. Only recording a few tracks simultaneously, most of the time tracking one track at a time. Mixture of analogue tracks and virtual instruments 50/50 and typical track counts 35-50.

What I'm looking to achieve is to be able to use a lot more native plugins (e.g. Soundtoys, Izotope, Waves) rather than be restricted to the Avid DSP plugins even though they are excellent.
I had the same setup as you before I upgraded to PT HD Native/Mac 4.1 (flashed to 5.1) 8-core a few years ago. Couldn't be happier. My mixes are usually 64-128 tracks with the usual plugins. No problems. I would consider 64GB Ram if you are using a lot of VIs. Look for the fastest Mac Pro 5.1 you can find, the 6 or 12-cores are not far behind the entry level Mac Pro 6.1 in performance.
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
Studio at home: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, S6 24-fader.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2019, 09:32 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danieleither View Post
I'm currently using PT10 HD3 on a Mac Pro 3.1 8-core system. It runs pretty well provided I stick to mostly DSP plugins. I do like using a LOT of plugins in my work and I find it won't cope with many native plugins and runs out of memory easily, despite the system having 32gb. I believe PT10 can only utilise 4gb so this may be the reason why.

I've been considering upgrade to a PT12 or newer HDX setup for a while now (mostly due to the offline bounce and track rendering functionality) however I also understand that the newer tech will handle native plugins more efficiently?

I will also upgrade the MAC. I despise the cylindrical shape of the newer 6.1 Mac Pros so I'm considering a used 5.1 system and would be grateful if people could advise what spec I should be looking for? e.g. 6-core of 12-core? Is 3.46GHz processor enough? Is 32gb enough memory or should I be looking at 48gb / 64gb / 96gb etc?

With regards my usage, I'm a home-studio producer working on my own music only. Only recording a few tracks simultaneously, most of the time tracking one track at a time. Mixture of analogue tracks and virtual instruments 50/50 and typical track counts 35-50.

What I'm looking to achieve is to be able to use a lot more native plugins (e.g. Soundtoys, Izotope, Waves) rather than be restricted to the Avid DSP plugins even though they are excellent.
I use an upgraded Mac Pro 5,1 with Pro Tools 2018.12 MacOS 10.13.6 (see sig for full details). I have no issues whatsoever with this combo.

I would definitely look for dual processor 8 or 12 core machine and upgrade the processors to 3.46 which is the highest you can get for the 5,1. Also consider putting an SSD boot drive on the PCI bus.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2019, 12:11 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 for PT 2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I use an upgraded Mac Pro 5,1 with Pro Tools 2018.12 MacOS 10.13.6 (see sig for full details). I have no issues whatsoever with this combo.

I would definitely look for dual processor 8 or 12 core machine and upgrade the processors to 3.46 which is the highest you can get for the 5,1. Also consider putting an SSD boot drive on the PCI bus.
Hey offthewall, I have nearly the exact same setup as you (bar the 12-core and PCIe boot drive, although that's in the post!) are you not getting any GUI lag on clips when editing? I'm having real trouble, very laggy compared to 11.2.2 HD on 10.9.4.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2018.4 to 2018.7 upgrade advice and experience chuckwow Pro Tools 2018 6 09-21-2018 12:09 PM
Macbook Pro 2018 w/ UAD Apollo 8p and PT 2018.7 Performance Issues Dudiester Pro Tools 2018 5 08-12-2018 09:33 AM
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 08:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com