Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2017, 02:47 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

I've got a couple of faders showing signs of imminent demise. I see there's a fader available as a replacement for about $90-100 online. Has anybody tried replacing individual faders on the D-Command? Is it tough? Any tips?
Appreciate any advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2017, 03:50 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

It's easy, although I have not needed to do it myself on mine

Are these the newer carbon faders?

Who's the dealer?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2017, 03:54 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
It's easy, although I have not needed to do it myself on mine

Are these the newer carbon faders?

Who's the dealer?
I'd imagine they're the older faders since it's the orig D-Command, not the ES. Although I don't know what revisions the D-Command saw in terms of faders. Looks like a few allen screws holding the fader plate down and then a couple more holding the fader to the plate. That said, I haven't even ventured to taking off the plate and peaking inside yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2017, 04:35 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

They are easy to replace. Even though it's the original, I don't think they make the original faders anymore. I thought they were all the new carbon faders
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2017, 06:42 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

this the part that comes up first on google. not sure if it's the old or new fader. Maybe you can tell? http://www.fullcompass.com/prod/2726...-9750-60127-00
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

I think those are the new ones....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:34 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I think those are the new ones....
Hmmm. I remember years ago reading that maybe there was an issue with mixing the old ones with the new ones? Any idea if that's an issue? That is, should I be looking at replacing all 8 with the new model (~$800?)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:41 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?



Well now that I looked at mine those might be the old ones.

I have to look through my email because I got a quote from one of the vendors for eight new ones, I want to say it was like 600 something dollars. But That was a while back
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:44 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

thanks -- guess I really should check the part number of what's in there first. Seems easy enough from your photo!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:47 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Yeah it's those 5 hex bolts on the fader section.

Really quick
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing D-Command ES Fader belts antonis ICON & C|24 1 10-29-2016 07:45 PM
ICON Faders - People's experience please legasafe ICON & C|24 47 05-23-2015 09:09 AM
Replacing a Fader in Command 8 Ryan Masecar ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 10-09-2013 09:27 AM
FS: D-Command ES 24 Faders / like new Numarek Buy & Sell 0 04-30-2013 07:12 AM
002 and Command 8 faders (not together) Bixby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-22-2004 09:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com