Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2017, 10:51 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Grouped tracks - multiple playlist - comping - key commands not working as expected

I was editing a group of 3 tracks with 7 takes and found that the key command for going up and down the playlists (CTL + P, CTL + ; ) yielded unworkable results. The cursor would jump to the next track in the group rather than just going to the next playlist in the track I was using as the edit one.

Any one else seen this? Was i using the wrong Key Command?

PS - I so dearly wish that SOLO on the playlists would follow the edit cursor...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2017, 11:38 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Grouped tracks - multiple playlist - comping - key commands not working as expect

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
I was editing a group of 3 tracks with 7 takes and found that the key command for going up and down the playlists (CTL + P, CTL + ; ) yielded unworkable results. The cursor would jump to the next track in the group rather than just going to the next playlist in the track I was using as the edit one.

Any one else seen this? Was i using the wrong Key Command?

PS - I so dearly wish that SOLO on the playlists would follow the edit cursor...
Lee,
Were these tracks grouped before of after they were recorded?

I have found PT to dead on with playlists PROVIDED the tracks were grouped before you ever record onto them.

The few times I've grouped them afterwards, it's been iffy.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2017, 12:10 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Grouped tracks - multiple playlist - comping - key commands not working as expect

Grouped before
OK I did a test with 3 grouped tracks and 6 playlists

If you put the cursor in Lane 1 of the top track and hit "CTL + ;" the cursor moves correctly but the screen view jumps (putting the next track down in the center -*repetitive CTL + ; works smoothly but if you go CTL + P it jumps again putting the upper track at the top f the screen.

With 7 lanes zoomed to take up the height of the window it is jarring- to me.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2017, 12:58 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Grouped tracks - multiple playlist - comping - key commands not working as expect

Hmm, all seemed good here. I got all expected behavior I think. Unless I am missing something.

BTW, in command focus mode, you don't need the modifier.

www.drewmazurek.com//GroupPlaylists.gif
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2017, 01:28 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Grouped tracks - multiple playlist - comping - key commands not working as expect

Yes - now zoom your track 1 and all its playlists to fill the screen top to bottom and try it. You will find the off screen stuff jump in and out. I had a Mono track that was easy to focus on and 2 stereo ones that kept jumping into the screen...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elastic Audio is Phase Shifting with Multiple Grouped Tracks soundfaithaudio Pro Tools 10 11 01-31-2015 12:42 PM
comping part from multiple tracks & viewlists wildhair Pro Tools 10 8 07-28-2012 03:31 PM
comping grouped tracks manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-21-2012 06:12 AM
Comping multiple tracks that are in a group problem no-xplode macOS 1 01-25-2012 03:09 AM
View more than 1 playlist in PT9 for comping tracks Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 3 12-15-2010 09:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com