Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2015, 07:12 AM
imperial_ice imperial_ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
Default INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Hello Pro Toolers,

My problem started when i took a flight and misplaced my iLok (among other small objects) to never be found again, I have searched everywhere for a solution to this (yes i checked the 'Lost Stolen or Broken iLok Policy' but it seems i need an Avid Support Code which i had when i bought my PT but it seems it has expired now) and now I'm at a complete loss.

P.S. I think it is important to note that i bought an Education Version of PT because i'm an audio engineering student and i used it in my studies.

now my question is, after filing a Lost iLok RMA and getting a web case number is there a way to get to Avid without an Avid Support Code? if not and I will have to buy a new ASC, which one do i choose? I can see two types of ASCs (here) and i do not own an HD (or an LTE) version of pro tools, so i'm not sure which one is right for me (since this is a requirement in order to get a replacement license)?!

on the other hand, and now that PT12 is announced, does the education version of PT11 (bought on 22/July/2014) come with an upgrade plan for that? if so, will it require me to have my old iLok or i can register the new license to a new iLok without the need to retrieve my old license?

I'm really sorry if my question is too long or has already been answered but i searched everywhere i could with no use.

this is a life and death matter because i have a ton of projects i need to finish or else i will fail...save me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2015, 08:15 AM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

You should be able to use someone else's iLok to complete your assignments. Certainly your school should have a lab where you could also work.

Deal with the first problem first; complete your work. Then, deal with your lost iLok.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2015, 08:51 AM
imperial_ice imperial_ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiostuff View Post
You should be able to use someone else's iLok to complete your assignments. Certainly your school should have a lab where you could also work.

Deal with the first problem first; complete your work. Then, deal with your lost iLok.
that does sound like a very good temporary solution, i was panicking and it slipped my mind, thanks a lot for that

but i will still have to get my own iLok and the same issue is still there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2015, 11:10 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,985
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

This thread as well as many others over the past years should point out a very important and often overlooked option.

Pace/ilok offers a plan known as "TLC". After a small yearly fee for their "Zero Downtime" plan you can also opt in to "TLC" for no additional charge. This will allow you to retrieve all of your ilok licenses without the typical hassle in the event an ilok is lost or stolen.

Go to the ilok site for details.

https://www.ilok.com/#!faq
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2015, 11:14 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,061
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Why have ilok website stop working on ipads
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2015, 11:26 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Quote:
Originally Posted by imperial_ice View Post
but i will still have to get my own iLok and the same issue is still there.

Request a PT Demo, it will help you by some time

They really should make all the EDU licenses and licensees use the TLC and the ZDT by default
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2015, 12:34 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,985
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post

They really should make all the EDU licenses and licensees use the TLC and the ZDT by default
I fully agree. Opting out should be a deliberate and informed act.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2015, 12:46 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Opting in can't be the default because it's an additional, recurring charge.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2015, 01:11 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Not for TLC, it's free. One of them is anyway
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2015, 01:22 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: INQUIRY: an "I lost my iLok, what can I do?" question with a twist

Oh, if he was saying TLC should be enabled by default when subscribing to ZDT, then I fully agree.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok Account Inquiry Squid Vicious Pro Tools 11 2 04-27-2014 04:02 PM
Protools & iLok Authorization Inquiry Tony_Nailz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 08-12-2008 06:36 AM
Lost thread "Stolen or lost iLok" stargazer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-18-2006 04:44 PM
"001 and soundcard" question, with a twist nevadadad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-28-2003 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com