Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2014, 05:12 PM
cary chilton cary chilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 786
Default PT 10 with which OSX?

I understand PT 11 is 64 bit and does support older 32 bit plug ins is that correct?

If so, I will buy PT 10. But which OSX runs PT 10 the most stable?
Lion, Mountain Lion or Mavericks?


Thnx!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2014, 07:35 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Lion or Mountain Lion are OK
Mavericks is unsupported
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2014, 08:21 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,631
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

FYI- We have a Pro Tools Operating System Compatibility Chart here.

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2014, 01:38 AM
cary chilton cary chilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 786
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

ok great ! What are the main differences between PT 10 and PT 11 besides the 32 vs 64 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2014, 02:06 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
ok great ! What are the main differences between PT 10 and PT 11 besides the 32 vs 64 bit?
mostly the 64 bit rewrite but also none of the older RTAS or TDM plug-ins work
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2014, 08:51 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
ok great ! What are the main differences between PT 10 and PT 11 besides the 32 vs 64 bit?
http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...ev_B_80409.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2014, 01:49 AM
cary chilton cary chilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 786
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Should I keep Lion or upgrade to Mountain Lion ? Which is most stable with PROTOOLS? I have contradictory things!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2014, 06:58 AM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Mnt lion worked great with PT10.... I'm running 10 on a lion system perfectly
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2014, 08:17 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
I understand PT 11 is 64 bit and does support older 32 bit plug ins is that correct?
Just to make sure you have got it right from the links the others have posted already before...
Pro Tools 11 is 64bit but it DOES NOT support older 32bit plugins at all!

If you donīt want to upgrade your plugins to AAX 64bit versions or there are specific plugins
which are simply not available in this new format anymore, you better stay with PT10.

However there is kinda compromise you could make if you still would want to go with PT11.
All plugins or VIs which are available also in AU or VST 64bit you can use in Pro Tools 11
via host-plugins which are themselves AAX 64bit but can host other AU or VST 64bit plugins or VIs.

This is still the easiest and most affordable way to use older or not upgradable plugins in Pro Tools 11.
One thing that has to be mentioned, it is not the most convenient way in the long run though.

This one is the most affordable yet good quality and stable host-plugin for PT11.
http://www.bluecataudio.com/Products/Product_PatchWork/

It works great in PT11, can host any AU or VST 64bit plugin as well as VIs of these formats and it even
offers a lot of other cool features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
If so, I will buy PT 10.
You will have to buy PT11 which comes bundled with PT10. You canīt buy PT10 only now as a new product,
it only will be available in a bundle with Pro Tools 11 now.

If you would have any older Digidesign/Avid hardware you could use for the upgrade to PT11, it definitely would
be the right time now as Avid offer the upgrade for a super low price until Dec 20th. Just have a look there.
http://www.sweetwater.com/feature/protools11/
You also will need an iLok 2 for the use with PT10 and PT11. The iLok 1 will not be able to house the bundled PT11
+10 license anymore.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/iLok2/

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
If so, I will buy PT 10. But which OSX runs PT 10 the most stable?
Lion, Mountain Lion or Mavericks?
As mentioned before you will have to buy the PT11+10 bundle anyway as PT10 isnīt available as a single license anymore.

If you now would go to install Mountain Lion 10.8.5 you actually could run both versions of Pro Tools on 1 computer.
Mountain Lion 10.8.5 was the latest Mac OS X version PT10 could be used with and is also one version of Mac OS
PT11 already can be used with.
Itīs the officially required Mac OS version no. by Avid for the use with the latest versions of both, PT10 and PT11
together one 1 computer.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements
...scroll down and click on "Mac OS Compatibility Grid" which will open a site with a very good, clear chart will
provide you all the needed info.

You would have to install Mac OS X 10.8.5, Pro Tools 10.3.9 and Pro Tools 11.2.1.
This finally would give you the possibility to run the latest version of PT10 with all your older plugins and VIs
as well as to try out the latest version of PT11 and see how it works, how it feels to you and if it would be worth
to upgrade your plugins and VIs to AAX 64bit versions (and so to go for future versions of PT too).
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-3-9-Downloads
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-2-1-Downloads

Donīt forget to do all the Mac OS optimization stuff required for PT, read it all carefully as there are important exceptions
displayed in red letters too.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e.../Optimize-10-8

Also make sure your computer meets all the needed requirements as well as all the drives you intend to use with
Pro Tools 10 and 11.

Hope this will answer your questions in a way.

Finally wishing you the best of success and much fun with your new system,

VRW



Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, MacOS 10.10 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2, Genelec Active,
Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.2.1, Logic 10.0.7, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, Softube, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2014, 01:55 AM
cary chilton cary chilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 786
Default Re: PT 10 with which OSX?

thanks VRW - Can't I just buy PT 10 +11 and just install Pt 10 with Lion or not happening?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com