Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2014, 08:47 AM
thesk8rguitarist thesk8rguitarist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9
Default Thinking about upgrading...

I'm currently running OSX 10.6.8 and Pro Tools 10.5.3 and am thinking about upgrading my computer to Mavericks and Pro Tools 11, but am concerned about what plugins may be unavailable or what ramifications this may have on my setup.

First, I think I read that I need a new iLok for PT11. Is that correct?
I mainly use a lot of the stock plugins from Pro Tools (like the delays, compressors, EQs, etc). Will switching to 11 affect my template sessions and the plugin settings therein? The only plugin I use that I haven't seen in PT 11 is AIR Stereo Width. I like using this to add a little bit more depth in my sessions. Can anyone confirm if it does/doesn't work, or can anyone recommend a similar plugin?

Also, if I do need a new iLok, is there a thread or a how to video of how to transfer all of my licenses over?

Thanks ahead of time!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:10 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

yes, you need a v2 iLok for 11
It is very easy to move licensees between iLoks on an account
All the stock plugs are ported for 11 but you Delay has been consolidated to a singe plug instead of short, med, long, extra long
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:18 AM
thesk8rguitarist thesk8rguitarist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

Holy crap, FINALLY! That was the most stupid thing about any of the plugins. The option was THERE! haha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:19 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

"Air Stereo Width" is listed here as included in Pro Tools 11.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:23 AM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

phase scope (get the name right?) is missing...

Oddly, it's about the only stock plug I ever really used lol.... just learned wtih other stuff - I guess every now and then I'll use some air stuff, and sans-amp as well

Double check all your critical plugs first, to see if they have gone AAX

If anything critical is missing, then wait, otherwise go for it! Best move I ever made..... I'm loving it.... not having issues... had a couple early on, but they were minor, and resolved quickly.... on 10.9.2 and HD11.1.2 - solid on 3 systems (HD Native on each, 2 PCIe and one TB)
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2014, 12:31 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Table Syrup Records View Post
phase scope (get the name right?) is missing...
If you miss it, check out the free AAX version of HOFA Korrelator.

__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2014, 07:34 AM
thesk8rguitarist thesk8rguitarist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

Another question actually, I've also heard mixed answers on this, but will PT 10.5.3 run ok on Mavericks? If so, I may upgrade one before the other.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2014, 10:10 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesk8rguitarist View Post
Another question actually, I've also heard mixed answers on this, but will PT 10.5.3 run ok on Mavericks? If so, I may upgrade one before the other.
run, yes
supported, no
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2014, 10:23 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,335
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

I wouldn't be in a hurry to move to Mavericks.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2014, 09:43 AM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Thinking about upgrading...

Mavericks will not uninstall PT 10 .... Don't install PT 10 don't upgrade mavericks !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of upgrading to 8 Shanegrla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-24-2009 04:01 PM
thinking about upgrading to mbox2 pro mdo9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 11-27-2008 01:42 PM
Thinking of upgrading to HD tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 11-18-2008 09:45 PM
Thinking of upgrading to Nehalem stryder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-04-2008 11:25 AM
Thinking of upgrading to HD from LE. Advice? Jumpman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-02-2005 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com